Kate Soles

Super-Nanny seeking Super-Kids!


Nanny in Victoria

For the past five years I have worked as a stay-at-home mom with my son, Eliot, and, in November 2013, I also began providing daycare for a then-20 month old. My son now attends full-day kindergarten and my former daycare charge has started preschool so I am looking for a new family with children to work with. In the past, I have worked as a teaching assistant, an aide and a baker but, right now, I cannot imagine spending my days without young children. I am a loving but firm caregiver; I dont believe in punishment but I discipline through empathetic limits, leadership and natural consequences. I know that when kids act up or whine, its because their need are not being met and, in difficult moments, I have learned to regulate my own emotions before reacting to disruptive behaviour. I also give children in my charge lots of freedom when it comes to play: if they are happily engaged in an activity, I will leave them alone with their imaginations unless they request that I join them. At the park, I will watch them from afar instead of hovering or directing them (while insuring their safety of course. ). Children are excellent problem solvers and I believe they can resolve most conflicts amongst themselves with minimal mediation. This will be my sons third year in a Montessori program and I am a huge believer in the Montessori philosophy. After getting dressed, brushing teeth etc. a typical day would begin with free play, art or games until about 10:30am. Then we would head outside rain or shine to a playground or outdoor space; my favourites include Windsor Park, Anderson Hill, Kitty Islet and Willows Beach. We would head home around noon, possibly stopping for groceries on the way, and have lunch and nap (if applicable) and more indoor or backyard play (depending on how your houses are set up). Around 2:30 would be another outing: another park, weather permitting, or the library or any other place your kids like to frequent. I have to pick my son up daily at school at 3:15 across from Windsor Park so he would spent a couple hours each day with us. One of our favourite things to do after school is go to Crumsbys in Estevan Village and Id hope to take your children there too. Im an extremely avid walker but I do not have access to a car so I would be most comfortable providing care in my own home or in a family home in Oak Bay. I personally live on the Fairfield/Oak Bay border close to Richmond/Oak Bay Ave. I have no problem working in households with pets. Please let me know whether you need any more information from me. I would love to meet in person to talk about your position.

Nanny Details

Email Address ...@....ca Confirmed
Phone Number 778-676-...
Years of Experience 4
Provider Type Individuals
Age Group Newborn
Early School
Availability Live Out
Full Time
Long Term
Language English
Days Per Week 5
Hours Per Week 40
Pay Negotiable
Training First Aid
Household Light Housekeeping
Number of Children 2


Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Canadian Nanny Provider