Carly A

My name is Carly Adamson, I'm twenty three years old and I absolutely love working with children!...

Want To Connect With Carly? Get Started Now

Nanny in Peterborough

My name is Carly Adamson, I'm twenty three years old and I absolutely love working with children! I have a college diploma and have worked in both casual workplace settings (grocery store for five years) and professional workplaces (CMHA Canadian Mental Health Association). I also have over five years of paid experience working with children of almost all ages. I've worked with people that live with physical disabilities, learning disabilities, as well as mental health issues (everything from depression to schizophrenia). I have two dogs, and a younger brother and sister. I am a respectable, trustworthy and responsible person who strives for a job well done. I have had training (although not currently updated) in First Aid/CPR and NVCI (Non Violent Crisis Intervention). I have up to date Food Handler's and ASIST (Suicide Intervention Skills) training. I had a record check done back in May 2012 for a volunteer position, and am willing to obtain a current one. I am full of energy compassion and caring and take pride in what I do! Experience From grades seven to eleven, I looked after two girls, ages five and nine at the beginning of the job. Their mother was my grade six teacher who had hired me the following year to look after her children. They lived in my neighbourhood, and I would usually meet the children at their bus stop that was approximately ten minutes from my house. I would help the older girl with her homework, play games with the younger child, cook dinner, tidy up, etc. Their mom or dad would come home around 6-6:30pm. This routine was approximately 3-5 days a week . Their mother would phone me the week prior to tell me which days I was working. I would occasionally look after the children in the evening when their parents went out. From grades eight to twelve I also looked after my aunts three children, aged two, five and eight on occasion, approximately four eight times a month. I would usually start working in the evening and do things such as make dinner for the kids, play board games, play in the yard (make forts, play hide and seek etc, and go through their nighttime routine/have the children go to bed when it was bedtime, etc. My aunts youngest daughter also lives with Down Syndrome. Currently I work for a family in Peterborough that I know through my last workplace. My current job consists of looking after the families fourteen month (currently) old son during the day, and watching their nine year old son after he comes home from school. I arrive at 9:30am, make the baby a snack, play with toys, blocks, etc, go for walks around the neighbourhood if its nice outside, or drive to the beach (earlier in the year when it was warmer). I always make sure the baby has his routine in place when Im there (snack, morning nap, lunch, playing, usually has a bath, afternoon nap (if hes tired)). I also looked after the nine year old full time in the summer months, would make him lunch and play with him as well. I also clean and tidy up when Im there, do laundry, etc. Their mom comes home from work around 4:15pm each day. I also currently work with a disabled young man (twenty seven years old) on the weekend (Saturdays). I have worked with him since the beginning of 2011. I usually help him with his morning routine, brushing teeth, shaving, etc. We go out in the community (usually Peterborough, sometimes different communities) and attend different kinds of events, for example: Last Saturday we drove to Fenelon Falls for Santa Day a free Christmas event hosted by many businesses in the area. It included a petting zoo, make your own gingerbread men, ride in a carriage pulled by horses, chili, hot chocolate/apple cider, treats along the sidewalk, make your own yo-yo, etc. I try to make it fun for him and do things like go to the movies, visit a music/video store (one of his favourite things), go to different walking trails (Burnham park, Jackson park, etc.), craft events, the Peterborough market and other events hosted at the Evinrude or Memorial centre. This week we will be attending the Festival of Trees and buying some Christmas presents for his family. We also volunteer at Rubidge Street Retirement residence and run a bingo group. This current position I have is ending on December 28th 2012 as the children's mother is beginning her maternity leave then. Other experience: Sobeys --... (Deli department) I worked in the Hot foods department as well as the deli. I occasionally would work the Seafood department. I was a part time employee throughout my time there, and worked both morning and evening shifts, usually whatever shifts were available that I could work around either my high school schedule or my college schedule. CMHA Canadian Mental Health Association --... (PSW Peer Support Worker Social Recreation created/designed/ran programming for clients of the REACH day program (adults living with a learning and/or physical disability and a mental health issue), included an outdoors group, bingo group, a supper club, and a weekend group called SAGE (Sharing Achievements Goals and Experiences)) I also worked as a POW (Peer Outreach Worker)Some of those duties included: ran an outreach group in Lakefield for clients of REACH and other individuals in surrounding communities - had my own set clients that I met with each week, usually in the community. We focused on goals and recovery. I would do things such as attend appointments with my clients, or just have coffee with them at a Tim Hortons and talk. I would also record my appointments in a database, etc.

Nanny Details

Email Address
Phone Number 705-292-...
Years of Experience 5
Age Group
Pay Minimum - $9.00
Maximum - $12.00
Special Needs
Work Eligibility
Number of Children 3


Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Profile