Amy W

I have traveled to many places, and worked with children in quite of few of those places

1

Nanny in Vancouver

I have traveled to many places, and worked with children in quite of few of those places. I love experiencing new ways of life, be it a new culture or a new home. I am studying Political Science (with a focus on Human Rights and political theory), and want to help develop a more compassionate and tolerant world - I\'m an optimist. I find that children are a real source of inspiration for that, even when they are throwing fits because you won\'t give them another cookie. I am genuinely interested in being a part of a child\'s life, and helping a family in whatever way I can. I would love to teach your children yoga, draw with them, read them stories about other countries, help them with their homework, and also help out around the house so that you as parents have more time to spend with your children. My first experience working as a nanny was in the Czech Republic when I was 18. I worked with a family for a month. I helped with small chores around the house, but my main duty was to entertain and speak English with the children. The family had a 4 year old boy and an 18 month old daughter. It was an incredibly challenging experience as neither of the children had been away from their mother before (they would even cry if she left the room). It taught me a lot a patience, and creativity in how to deal with upset children. My second job with children was in Berlin the following year. I was in charge of 2 boys, they were 5 and 2. I took them to their kitas (daycares) and picked them up. I was responsible for them from around 1pm to 6 pm, so I fed them, played with them, read with them and anything else that came up. I was also in charge of laundry, some cooking, and a fare amount of cleaning. My latest nanny job was for my family. My sister-in-law was on bed rest with her second child and my brother worked full time so I was given the best job I could imagine; looking after my 2 year old niece 5 days a week. I took her to strong start programs, went to the beach with her, helped her make crafts for her mother. I also helped clean and prepare food in the house. My last child related job was a couple of years ago. I worked teaching English to children ranging in age from 5-13 in Chiang Mai Thailand. I am currently volunteering at a Transition house for women escaping abusive relationships. At the house I have taken on childcare responsibilities and am really enjoying getting to spend time with children who, though they are going through very difficult situations, are capable of maintaining their innocence, optimism, strength, and creativity.

Nanny Details

Email Address ...@gmail.com
Phone Number
Years of Experience 1
Age Group Newborn
Infants
Primary School
Availability Live Out
Part Time
Long Term
Language English
Pay Negotiable
Hourly
Services Pet Care
Swimming Supervision
Homework Supervision
Training Babysitter
Work Eligibility Eligible To Work
Household Light Housekeeping
Meal Preparation
Groceries
Own Transportation
Errands
Laundry
Number of Children 2

Notes

Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Canadian Nanny Provider