Stephanie P

I am writing with enthusiasm to families who are requesting for more information about me

Want To Connect With Stephanie? Get Started Now

Nanny in Toronto

I am writing with enthusiasm to families who are requesting for more information about me. I am originally from Newfoundland and I was born on November 20, 1958. I grew up in a rather large tight knit traditional Irish, French family with almost two hundred first and second cousins, I am second oldest of seven girls. Needless to say, a great sense of humor was an important requirement to getting along. I resided in a small socially active community whereby my parents and entire family were involved in all sports, drama, school choir, Brownies and Girl Guides. I grew up with un-locked doors, un-scheduled play with sleepovers and at a dinner table full of the neighborhood kids just dropping in after a day of fun. My childhood home truly had an open door policy. I am married and we currently reside in a quite condo in the Junction- Roncesevalle area of downtown Toronto. I love the area where we live because its multi-cultural with many restaurants, parks and libraries nearby where I can entertain children in my care. The condo committees where I live have always endeavored to provide a solid community and family atmosphere for all the residence and so we value areas for children and pets to play. We have scheduled family style parties and arts and crafts activities for the children each month. We call these events meet your neighbour. I was the neighbourhood babysitter as a young teenager. My natural fondness, interest and enjoyment for children of all ages I feel stems from these positive early experiences. I have always volunteered with children from ages five to teenagers. I was a Girl Guide leader for five years and volunteered at summer camps with over two hundred children. My main duties were to implement fun and engaging arts and crafts program and drama activities for the evening fun. I am a committed professional with great energy to meet the demands to care for children of all ages. I returned to school as a second career student to complete my education in the early childhood program at Evergreen College. I have excellent references from my student placement at The Candy Factory which I started in June and finished in October of 2014. I am currently an occasional part-time nanny to a three-year-old boy on nights and weekends. I have my license as an early childhood assistant, Police Clearance, CPR and First Aid, Food Handling, immunizations updated, certificate in health and safety. Each year I endeavor to learn something new. I am interested this time to complete an etiquette course designed for children and young adults. It is suppose to be great fun! I am a mature caregiver with a grown child of my own and I recently became a grandmother who brings the greatest joy imaginable into my life; and so I fully understand the strong desire for parents to seek a caregiver who will provide a nurturing, safe and healthy environment for all the members of their family including their pets. Also, I know and understand the developmental stages of growing children. I am in favour of routine in a childs day as I believe it gives children the opportunity to follow a schedule and to learn and understand discipline. I have great patience with children and I practice nurturing and consistent guidance while introducing new ideas in a gentle way; as this was my own childhood experience. As you are well aware not everyone can or wants to work and play with children. The supervisor at my placement daycare remarked that I was a role model for the way I played and interacted with all the children. I take my career with children very seriously and resigned from a career as a bridal consultant to return to school. I have had many interesting mentors while studying early childhood education in Newfoundland. One such professor taught in the jungles of Brazil for twenty years and repeatedly told the class to use the objects around them to be creative, teach and entertain children. I have since lived by this philosophy all my life. I love to engage children through interactive reading, using their imagination to make up their own poems and stories, singing and music, cooking and baking together. I favor instructing children to do and complete simple household chores. I feel getting out of doors paramount to a childs health and well-being. Although fun, I do not need toys to entertain children and so I will use almost anything I can get my hands on to create something wonderful and new. I love to sew, knit, paint and draw in all mediums. The recycling bin is garbage to most but it is a gold mine for me. I can be often heard saying DONT THROW THAT OUT ITS WONDERFUL!!!! I really enjoy baking and cooking and feel this is very important for children. I have counted over two hundred skills and knowledge learned from this activity alone. Can you imagine how much wonderful fun and mess for kids? I have great communication and organizational skills, which I feel, are the most important skills for a great nanny as this avoids tantrums and upsets in children of any age, including adults! Other lifestyles activities are my balcony gardening, travel, camping, scuba diving, swimming, snorkeling, cross country and downhill skiing. I have travelled to Africa and many countries in Europe the United States and my own country Canada. One of my favorite countries is Turkey. We travelled as much is possible as children and I have seen much of the United States and Canada with them. My family has what we refer to as The travelling gene. My own father had travelled most of the South Seas and Australia by the age of seventeen, which I might add was unusual for his time. I am a very fortunate person to work in a field that makes me feel, content, fulfilled and valued by the families who leave their children in my care. As we all know it is a wonderful feeling to have those little arms tight around your neck and for you to know they feel safe, nurtured and loved. I wish to add that I am a nonsmoker and I do not drink and I have a current flawless driving record and license and own my own car. If you share these same values as I so cherish in a caregiver for all children, I am very interested in hearing from you and I hope you will give me a chance to meet with you in person to discuss my candidacy in detail. Kindest Regards, Stephanie Power Early Childhood Assistant with The Candy Factory Daycare June 2014-Present Toronto, ON Experience working with children 6 months to preschool Conduct and monitor activity programs designed for young children Prepare activities and assist children Guide children in development of proper eating, dressing and toilet habits Arrange transition periods such as lunch and rest for children Maintain supplies and equipment and perform light cleaning duties On Call Nanny Lau Family, June 2014-Present Toronto, ON Provide on call care to a boy aged three Carried out daily activities to meet the childrens physical and emotional needs Prepared and served meals and snacks Played with the children and took them on walks/to the playground Organized games and read storybooks Childcare Provider Harvey Family, --... Newmarket, ON Provided on call care for three girls age infant, two and four Prepare daily meals and snacks Undertake light housekeeping tasks such as laundry, dusting and vacuuming Organize and take children on regular outings Transport children to activities and appointments Play sports and outdoor games with children Facilitate bedtime routines Girl Guide Leader and Summer Program Coordinator, --... St. Johns, Newfoundland Provide responsible leadership for my unit, girls were 8 to 13 years of age Create a safe environment for the children, both emotional and physical Provide and design a program that is fun and engaging Foster and maintain good relations with my council, peers, other guides and the public Maintained qualifications in CPR, first aid, food handling

Nanny Details

Email Address
Phone Number
Years of Experience 10
Age Group
Pay Hourly
Work Eligibility
Number of Children 3
Twins Or Multiple Children Yes


Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Profile