Vanessa S

Hi There

Want To Connect With Vanessa? Get Started Now

Nanny in Burnaby

Hi There My name is Vanessa, I am a 28 year old professional nanny from Australia, coming to Vancouver on a two year working holiday visa. I have ten years experience working in childcare, both as a live-in/live-out nanny, and within childcare centres. In response to what you might be looking for: PERSONAL DETAILS: Nationality: Australian Age: 28 Hobbies/Interests: children, animals, science, travel, cooking, museums, zoos, cultural festivals, theme parks, music, arts and culture. Non-Smoker Fun loving Reliable Nurturing Honest Happy SKILLS/KNOWLEDGE: -Two year Canadian Working Holiday Visa, and a 5 year US Tourism Visa -Ten years experience caring for children (newborn teenage) -Certificate 3 in Childrens Services (Which is a qualified course in Child Care, and you need it to work in Australian Child Care Centre's. I will try to transfer it over to an ECE equivalent when I get to Canada.) -Certificate 3 in Business Administration -Senior First Aid with CPR -Australian Federal Police Name Check -Criminal History Record Check -National Police Check Child Care -WA Working With Childrens Check -High School Graduate 2001 -Cooking and Housekeeping (I love to cook and learn new recipes, people say I am a good cook. I am an efficient cleaner and can multitask) -Full Medical Check Happy to report that I am healthy (it was required in order to gain a --Canadian working with children visa) EMPLOYMENT: --... The Gravity Discovery Centre - Receptionist --... Norgrove Training - RTO Administrator and Student Support Officer Childcare Related: --... Paradise Early Learning Centre - Childcare Assistant --... Woodland Family, Gawler SA Live-out Nanny --... Williams Family, Campbelltown SA Live-out Nanny --... Angelini Family, Klemzig SA - Live-out Nanny --... Bacon Family, Prospect SA - Live-out Nanny --... Buxton-Walker Family, Adelaide SA - Live-out Nanny --... Haydon Family, Dublin IRELAND - Live-in Nanny --... Harding Family, Drumshanbo IRELAND - Live-in Nanny --... Woodard Family, Gawler SA - Live-out Nanny --... Campbelltown Community Childrens Centre - Work experience, Childcare Assistant Responsible for the sole care of newborns to teenagers, up to 24 hours a day Pet care Educational activities Personal care duties Excursions General home/centre maintenance Cooking Cleaning FURTHER INFORMATION: I have over 10 years experience in childcare (outlined above), I started babysitting when I was a teenager and became a professional child carer after that. During high school I concentrated on childcare studies, where I gained hands on experience as a Child Care Assistant, within a Campbelltown Community Childrens Centre. Currently I am studying my certificate 3 in childrens services, which is a Childcare Course and a prerequisite to work with children in Australian Childcare Centres. This will be completed by July, before I arrive in Canada. I can then transfer this into an appropriate ECE, the Canadian equivalent. There is a practical component of this course, so I am currently spending 100 hours in Little Rainbows Child Care Centre to complete this. Currently my other interests include anything science based, travel, animals, environment, astrology, cooking, music, arts and culture, so I am always prepared to organise something exciting to stimulate your child's development and interests. ME AS A NANNY: I am a nanny who is patient and has genuine love for children. I love the outdoors and love to get silly. My philosophy is that children should be encouraged grow, have fun, experiment and learn as individuals, while respecting and valuing the environment and other people. As a child I grew up with a lot of freedom outdoors, I was always climbing trees, making mud pools, playing with animals, building cubby houses, and make believing. With my practical and theory experience, I understand the planning of educational activities and routines and care of children according to developmental stages. I have been there to see many a first step, hear many a first word, progressed children to toilet training, taught them to feed themselves, how to read and write, ride a bike, as well as every day tasks such as personal care, organisation, interacting respectfully with people and other living things, and just enjoying life. I enjoy taking children on outings to the park, museum, pool, beach, and other places of interest. If there are any play programs, such as kindergym, child's play and music classes, I am more than happy to take them there as well. I think should children should be presented with as many learning experiences and opportunities as possible, and always made to feel that they are loved and cared for; it helps give them the room and confidence they need to develop as capable people. I believe children learn mostly through example and imitation, often you will find children playing out situations in creative play, which they have observed or experienced in the environment around them. This behaviour, I believe, helps them to understand their world. Imitation helps them to understand cause and effect, and where they stand in that situation. Even very young children/infants will observe situations in their immediate environment, however havent yet grasped the developmental skills yet to be able to carry out creative play. However, this doesnt mean they should be secluded from similar learning opportunities; they too need age appropriate experiences. With each child I have cared for, I have always prepared fresh and nutritious meals (with the exception of the child care centre, who had their own cook). When it comes to infants, I am experienced in sterilising bottles and preparing formulas. Once children start on solids, parents have often asked me to prepare and freeze extra nutritious meals for their child, so that they can use it at their convenience. When it comes to household maintenance, I like to help out where I can. I am organised, efficient, and I take pride in helping out parents around the home. Therefore I am more than happy to do laundry, cooking, and general cleaning. Unfortunately I cannot drive in Canada, but I do enjoy a good walk, and am more than confident with public transport. Recently I have been working as an administrator and receptionist, but am looking to return to nannying. I really enjoy nannying, I love learning about the wonders of the world and universe we live in and sharing this information the children I care for. I appreciate their curiosity and place in the world, and how new and exciting everything is for them. Their curiosity and wonder reminds me of me. I find the world just as exciting as they do, and enjoy being there to help give them the tools to understand it, while watching them grow into their own person. "THE NITTY GRITTIES": I have booked my plane ticket to arrive 10 August and will be ready to commence work after that. My partner and I have already found a private rental in Burnaby (Nelson Avenue and Grange Street), so this is where we will be situated. I am looking for either a part-time or full-time position, depending on rates. I am outgoing, confident, warm, nurturing, well-organised, responsible, have a great sense of humour and just love children. They tend to find me loads of fun also. If you are interested, I would love to hear from you. AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST: - One written childcare reference. The reason I only have one is that in Australia we usually only supply contact details of references, so I am in the process of collecting written ones for potential employers. - Contact information of other references - 2001 TAFESA Accredited Childcare Training, my further qualified training certificate 3 will be available in July 2012, which I will then transfer into an ECE - Senior First Aid with CPR certificate - Australian Federal Police Name Check - Criminal History Record Check - National Police Check Child Care - WA Working With Childrens Check Best wishes with your search. Many Thanks, Vanessa :) I have cared for up to 30 children (0-5 years) at one time, with in a child care centre. I have been a nanny to varying ages of children, newborn to teenage years. I will do anything and everything for your child, whether it means to read as many books as they can handle, cook, clean up after, take on outings to pool, museums, zoo's etc. My credentials are: Over 10 year experience working with children (newborns to teenagers) Certificate 3 in Children's Services Senior First Aid Police Certificates x 2 WA Working Children's Check Medical check (Healthy) Cooking and food handling experience High school graduate 2001 Past Employment: --... Paradise Early Learning Centre --... Angelini Family, Klemzig SA --... Bacon Family, Prospect SA --... Buxton-Walker Family, Adelaide SA --... Haydon Family, Dublin IRELAND --... Harding Family, Drumshanbo IRELAND --... Woodard Family, Gawler SA Responsible for the sole care of newborns to teenagers, up to 24 hours a day Educational activities Personal care duties Excursions General home/centre maintenance Cooking Cleaning

Nanny Details

Email Address
Phone Number
Years of Experience 10
Age Group
Pay Minimum - $15.00
Maximum - $25.00
Special Needs
Work Eligibility
Number of Children 4
Twins Or Multiple Children Yes


Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Profile