1. Nannies
  2. Canada
  3. British Columbia
  4. Vancouver

Alison B

No reviews yet
What do I do with children
Vancouver, British Columbia
Active over a week ago

Nanny in Vancouver, British Columbia

I'm an
What do I do with children. Well, I rarely allow them to watch TV, play computer games. Rather, we actually spend time together. I read to them (am currently reading The Hobbit to a 7-yr-old I see regularly). We do crafts, origami, puzzles. We play games -- backgammon, checkers, Chinese checkers, Uno, hangman, card games. I recently babysat a 6-yr-old who had brought a carton home from his dad's office and said he had a project for us to do. His idea was a spaceship...All we could find was a utility knife, scissors, and packing tape. But the end result after 2 hrs. was a dragon, with wings you could flap when sitting in the box. It had 3-D eyes, ears and nose. His mom called to tell me that Gavin liked it so much he took it to school for show-and-tell. His dad e-mailed me to thank me for being so good with the boys. I studied to be teacher with a goal of Masters in Special Ed. but did not complete degree due to personal loss. One of my profs at McGill said that when I was teaching I should also be publishing. She liked my no-nonsense, up-front approach with kids, and I suppose she thought I wrote well. The school where I did my practicum guaranteed me a job upon graduation and I was put on the substitute list at a time when there were surplus certified teachers.The principal said that there were many on the list he did not want in his school, but he wanted me there. Too bad I did not fulfill my dream, but life took an unfortunate turn and I came to Vancouver. I have looked after children since I was 13, and until recently looked after all my friends’ kids. But alas, kids grow up and some are now in university or high school and can babysit younger siblings. I am patient, much prefer the company of children and animals.


I can work:
Live out
Long term


Ages include:
Primary school
I can look after:
Number of children: 4
I have advanced experience with:
Physical disability

Job details

Has own vehicle


I can provide:
I can speak


Responsibilities include:
Homework help
Meal prep
Pet care

Share This Profile

More in Vancouver, British Columbia