Profile photo

Gennifer M

I have 10+ years of childcare experience
Surrey, British Columbia
Active 5 days ago
10 yrs experience
18/hr

Want to connect with Gennifer?

Get Started Now

Nanny in Surrey, British Columbia

Please note: in spite of what my profile is erroneously showing below, I do NOT have nor have I ever had a vehicle or a license. I am wholly reliant on public transit and rideshare services. I don't mind longer commutes and moving closer (within the GVRD) or live in are both options I am willing to consider, if not actually eager to do. First of all, I want to be perfectly clear that as of July 10, 2021, I am fully vaccinated against COVID. I got both shots of Moderna. I have 10 years of childcare experience. Before I graduated from high school, I babysat for several different families. Now that I am out on my own, I am looking for a full-time nanny position or more than one part-time nanny position that would equal a full-time position. I have looked after up to 4 children at once, but for no longer than a day at a time. In my nannying positions, I have looked after children as young as 8 months and as old as 7 years. I have looked after a child with Autism Spectrum Disorder and have also learned some basic sign language, such as words that are most useful with non-verbal toddlers. I have done preschool and elementary school drop off and pick up. I am well-travelled on public transit and have taken up to three children on with me, sometimes with one in a stroller. On a day-to-day basis, I do not allow the children in my care to watch TV or play with electronics. I'm very comfortable around cats and I like most dogs that are good around children. I would be interested in doing a nanny share. My hobbies are knitting, reading, watching TV and movies, going out, walking, using the internet and swimming and want to learn to knit and sew. I've also completed the Responsible Adult course through the Westcoast Child Care Resource Centre. This means I have 20 hours of basic childcare training in subjects such as Health and Safety, Nutrition and programming. I have done my first aid training course several times, most recently in March 2018. I was born in Vancouver (so I am a citizen) and I've lived here for a total of 20 years. When in nanny positions, I have done the laundry, loaded and unloaded the dishwasher or done the dishes, done grocery shopping, school drop off and pick up and mopped and swept the floor. I know how to change cloth diapers (not well, I'm still learning how to do it so the diaper doesn't leak) and disposable. I know some sign language that is useful in communicating with babies (car, train, bus, more, hungry, water, etc.) I have looked after children between the ages of 4 months and 10 years. I have taken care of up to 4 children at once for as long as a day (ages were 7,5,3 and 1.5/2 years old OR 6, 6, 2.5 and 1 year old). I like taking the children in my care to places such as Science World, the aquarium, play gym, Kidtropolis, Family place, drop-in programs such as the one at Hastings community centre, swimming, going for nature walks, Strongstart and the library (for storytime, to get new books as well as to play with the toys in the basement at the big Central branch downtown). When we're at home, I allow the children in my care plenty of time for independent play or independent reading time (even if they aren't reading as of yet), but I also like helping them with crafts, learning activities and reading stories to them.

Availability

I can work:
Live in
Live out
Full-time
Part-time
Long term
Short term

Experience

I can look after:
4 children
Ages include:
Newborn 0-12 months
Infant 3-12 months
Toddler 1-3 years
Early School 4-6 years
Primary School 7-11 years
I have advanced experience with:
Twins/multiples

Services

Responsibilities include:
Pet care
Housekeeping
Swim supervision
Meal prep
Groceries
Homework help
Errands
Laundry

Qualifications

First Aid
CPR
Babysitter
I can speak
English
American sign language

Job Details

Transportation on the job:
Has own vehicle

Share This Profile

Want to connect with Gennifer?

Get Started Now
Find Nannies in Surrey, British Columbia
More in Surrey, British Columbia

Contact

CareGuide Inc.

WaterPark Place

1100 - 20 Bay Street

Toronto, ON

M5J 2N8