Brendan M

Teacher Candidate Seeking Weekend Employment

13

Nanny in Toronto

To Whom it may concern, I\'m a 27 year old Canadian male with a passion for education and working with children. I was born near Owen Sound, ON where I spent most of my time growing up. Living near Georgian bay and the Niagara escarpment, I did a lot of swimming, hiking, and camping. I was born into a busy household with two older sisters and later, a younger brother. I love to travel and enjoy new experiences. I speak french, having studied in French Immersion and I\'m keen about learning other languages. Being a male, I may not be a typical candidate as a nanny, but I think I have something different and valuable to offer many families. Recently, I moved back to the Toronto area after spending over a year teaching children in Thailand. I have also spent some time in my home town visiting family and friends. I live with my long term girlfriend, who also has a passion for working with children. I believe my fun loving attitude, as well as my responsible and reliable nature make me a great fit for many families. I have many experiences working with children of all ages and abilities. As a responsible individual, I started babysitting at a young age of 13, helping out with 6 year old twins. When I was 15 I started volunteering as an assistant snowboard instructor, and the next year I stared my first job as an instructor. I worked weekends for 4 years, teaching a daytime children\'s snowboard program, where I worked with children from ages 3-15 . At this time I realized I had an aptitude for working with children. When I was studying at the university of Guelph, I spent the summer working at an inclusion camp, which facilitated programming for all children, many of whom had special needs and abilities. Working as an inclusion councillor at Rainbow Day camp, I provided one to one support to a camper with a physical and/or developmental disability. This taught me how to provide quality recreational activities for all types. After graduating from University with a Bachelor of Arts, I began looking for a job as a full time caregiver/nanny, because I wanted to work with children and undertake some new responsibilities. In 2013 I found a family which was a great fit for me. When I started the job, the children were 6 months old and 4 years old. Working with an infant I had many responsibilities including feeding, bathing, and insuring she had an appropriate and timely sleeping schedule. With the 4 year old boy, I would facilitate fun and educational activities such as; reading, crafts, sports, baking, and general play time. I typically worked about 50 hours a week to help the family manage their busy schedule. In August 2013 the family was planning a move to Pittsburgh for a new job opportunity. At this time I decided to seek a new and exciting experience teaching abroad. Although the family and I went our separate ways, they are keen to recommend me as a caregiver, and I would consider them friends of mine. Last year, in Thailand, I worked as an English and Arts teacher at an international school. Over the year I acquired skills working with young teens and learned a lot about classroom management and teaching strategies. I also gained a good experience immersing myself in a new culture and overcoming communication barriers with my students and the community. After school, I would work at a language centre, teaching young children and also an adult class. On weekends in Thailand, I really enjoyed volunteering as an ESL teacher for underprivileged migrant children from Myanmar. I have taken a number of courses and undergone different training exercises that make me very qualified to work with children. I have taken a course on the \'high five principles\' of child development, which emphasizes being a caring adult. In Thailand I took TEFL training (teaching English as a foreign language) , and attended conferences about classroom management. I have a current emergency first aid and CPR certificate. In addition, I have a clean driver\'s licence and a full G licence with 8 years experience behind the wheel. I believe I would be a very valuable asset to a family. I\'m fun loving and easy to get along with, but I\'m also able to establish firm and consistent boundaries for children. I have extensive experience working with children and I hope to gain more, as I aspire to be an educator. I enjoy the outdoors, sports and activities, and as a young energetic individual I believe this can be very advantageous when working with children that are the same. I also believe I have a lot to offer a family that may need some relief in their busy lives. I\'m very able when it comes to household duties, as I keep my working environment clean and tidy. I can also do laundry, dishes, and run errands. I consider myself to be a good cook, and I\'m very experienced preparing meals for children or adults. I\'m also happy to do yard work or basic repairs, as I\'m also handy around the house. I look forward to meeting some families and find a good fit :) sincerely, Brendan Mullin I have worked with children of all ages and abilities. Previously, as a nanny, I worked with two children, one of which was an infant and the other was pre-school age. I have also worked at a summer camp working one to one with children that have disabilities. Most recently, I worked as a teacher at an international school in Ranong, Thailand. I worked with middle school children in class sizes ranging from 3 students to 50 students. I also did private tutoring and volunteered with teaching underprivileged children on weekends :)

Nanny Details

Email Address ...@gmail.com
Phone Number 416-801-... Confirmed
Years of Experience 8
Provider Type Individuals
Age Group Infants
Primary School
Availability Live Out
Full Time
Part Time
Long Term
Language English
French
Days Per Week 1
Hours Per Week 8
Pay Minimum - $15.00
Hourly
Special Needs Severe Allergies
Physical Disability
Intellectual Disability
Services Pet Care
Swimming Supervision
Homework Supervision
Gardening
Training First Aid
CPR
Foodsafe
Transportation Employee Has Licence
Work Eligibility Eligible To Work
Criminal Record Check
Household Light Housekeeping
Meal Preparation
Groceries
Own Transportation
Errands
Laundry
Number of Children 2
Twins Or Multiple Children Yes

Notes

Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Canadian Nanny Provider