Kyram D

Special Needs caregiver needed for 10-year-old boy with Quadriplegia

Want To Be Hired By Kyram?

Get Started Now

Family in Nepean

Looking for a part-time English female or male to care for a bright, intelligent, happy, sociable and personable 10-year old boy who is medically fragile. The ideal candidate would have a Disability Support Worker certification with at least 5 years of relevant field experience. The candidate must enjoy spending time with children, and be creative enough to invent new games, activities and crafts as appropriate. The client weighs 58 Lbs and has quadriplegia and severe to profound hearing loss (only mild loss when wearing hearing ). He has a tracheostomy and requires a ventilator 24 hours/day. He suffers from mild reflux. He requires a wheelchair. The worker must have use of a car. The family has a cat. Candidate's Role : - Use suctioning/cough assist machine/bagging techniques to ensure his airway remains clear. - Execute transfers with an electric ceiling lift. - Help implement the care plans of the various therapists on the client's case, including speech&language pathologist, occupational therapist, physiotherapist, communications therapists, respirologist and in-home tutor.. - Feeding via g-tube, with a small amount of supplemental oral feeding. - Peri-care. - Bathing in his inflatable tub placed on his hospital bed. - Provide interactive and fun reading time. - Perform in-bed range of motion exercises. - Use eye-gaze-driven computers for outward communication and training/education/entertainment. - Use blink relay to enable him to use cognitively complex computer programs. - Use partner-assisted scanning and a digital picture book for outward communication. - Communicate with him using English and American Sign Language. - Help him practice his reading and writing skills, and his math skills, under the direction of a senior in-home tutor. He is assessed primarily by how he responds to yes/no questions using his eye blink. Availability : Pay is $17.00/hour or more depending on experience. I pay a maximum of $25 an hour for committed senior team members who have extensive experience. Paid training shifts are provided. Shifts are mostly carried out at the family's home in Richmond village, just south of Kanata. Weekday shifts are from 3:30P-8P on school days (Catholic Elementary school board schedule). Saturday and Sunday shifts are 8A-8P. 8:30A-3:30P shifts are required for PD days, snow days, sick days, August summer holiday and statutory holidays. Parent / Caregiver Contact Information Name : Myles K Dear Home Phone Number : 613-838-... Alternate Phone Number : 613-858-...

Family Details

Email Address ...@hotmail.com Confirmed
Phone Number 613-858-... Confirmed
Postal Code K0A...
Years of Experience 5
Preferred Applicants Individuals
Age Group Primary School
Availability Live Out
Full Time
Part Time
Occasional
Long Term
Language English
Sign Language (ASL)
Days Per Week 7
Hours Per Week 50
Pay Negotiable
Minimum - $17.00
Maximum - $25.00
Hourly
Special Needs Other
Physical Disability
Services Homework Supervision
Training First Aid
CPR
Registered Nurse
Personal Support Worker
Early Childhood Education
Transportation Employee Has Vehicle
Employee Has Licence
Work Eligibility Eligible To Work
Criminal Record Check
Household Light Housekeeping
Meal Preparation
Laundry
Number of Children 1

Notes

Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Canadian Nanny Job