Jana Machan

Spacious Basement Apartment for Live-In Nanny/Family !

Family in Mississauga

I am a single mom who is looking for a good long-term arrangement to help me with childcare and general housework. When I say long-term, I am hoping for at least 5 years...the previous nanny stayed for 6 years ! I have two children, a boy 6, and a girl, 7. My son has ADHD, but is on medication so doing reasonably well. Both children are in school and although part of the job is housework (laundry, floors/carpets, bathrooms, kitchen, etc), there is also toy clean-up, pet care and meal prep, mainly dinner and also school lunches. Additionally, it is very important to me to find someone who can deal well with my children, can teach and discipline them appropriately and feels comfortable enough in English to supervise their homework and help them learn to read, do basic arithmetic, etc. The hours I need covered are 7:30-11:00am and 3:00-6:30pm, which is 35 hours /week. In my experience, this is sufficient time for all the housework, as well as all the other responsibilities. Additionally, there are about another 4-6 hours per week to cover a few evenings and overnights per month as I sometimes travel for business. So the total hours per week are usually around 40-42 hours or so. If the total time per week exceeded 44 hours/week, I would pay overtime. I would also occasionally need full day coverage (from 7:30am-6:30pm) when the kids have a PA day or a sick day. My son in fact has a PA "week" every 8th week of school, so this means a longer work week at the end of every 2nd month....so a good opportunity to earn some overtime ! I have a fully furnished full basement apartment available with its own kitchen, living room, bedroom, bathroom and washer/dryer. You would have free use of the backyard and bbq as well as a parking spot in the driveway. The house is 500m away from major transit, although our street is quiet and residential (we are south of Dundas, west of Mavis and east of Mississauga Rd). We are also near some excellent schools where you could send your kids, as my previous nanny did. All utilities are covered, and the estimated rental value of this apartment if around $ 950/month. This would be factored into the payment arrangements e.g. deducted from the nanny's salary. Due to the hours, and the occasional overnight travel, my preference is for a live-in nanny/housekeeper. However, if someone wanted to live out and could do occasional overtime as needed (late nights, overnights) I would be prepared to consider that. This would be even more the case if they were able to drive and have their own car as this would save me money I am currently spending on child transport. If you are interested, you can email me at ...@hotmail.com or call me at 416-721-... to discuss. Please note that I am not in a position to sponsor anyone and would like to ensure that the person I hire has immigration clearance to work in Canada. Thanks Jana

Family Details

Email Address ...@hotmail.com Confirmed
Phone Number 416-721-... Confirmed
Postal Code L5C...
Years of Experience 5
Preferred Applicants Individuals
Age Group Early School
Primary School
Availability Live In
Live Out
Full Time
Long Term
Language English
Days Per Week 5
Hours Per Week 42
Pay Negotiable
Minimum - $1,125.00
Special Needs Other
Services Pet Care
Homework Supervision
Transportation Job Close To Transit
Work Eligibility Eligible To Work
Criminal Record Check
Household Light Housekeeping
Meal Preparation
Number of Children 2


Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Canadian Nanny Job