Mariet Steinmann

South African Nanny Needing Sponsorship Available Immidiately

Nanny in Calgary

Note: this nanny requires sponsorship. Learn more: Everything You Need to Know about Sponsoring a Foreign Nanny or contact our support team.
I am a young highly motivated and dynamic individual with a passion for education and working with and caring for younger people. I come from a culture in which we have big families it is normal custom for siblings to aid in childcare and so have a lot of experience in caring for younger children in a home and family environment and am very comfortable with spending a lot of time with children of varying ages and caring for them. I have a very caring and nurturing personality and become very personally involved with the children that I work with. I studied a 4-year BA in English and moved on to get my PGCE qualification (which is a specialized post graduate teaching qualification) while working as an English teacher at a local high school. Here my responsibilities were teaching English to the whole High school, as well as the usual other duties that go hand in hand with teacher, such as excursions, sports and after care. At this school I privately tutored and cared for 3 learners who were facing enormous personal and health issues at the time and acted as carer and counsellor several times per week and over school holidays. In my second job I worked with a younger age group and taught English, Afrikaans, Art and physical well-being. In this job homeroom teachers also acted as mentors and private counsellors for the children in their homeroom and, as such, provided a lot of personal and specialized homework and after school care. During January I received an offer to take an extensive tour of the USA for 6 months and took the opportunity to learn about the world first hand with open arms. After being here for some time and teaching and tutoring English to refugees in Rochester, decided that I would like the opportunity to work with young people and children in Canada at a level that is not afforded to us in South Africa as post graduate professionals. I love traveling, playing games, cooking, being outdoors and learning as much as I can about the environment that I am in by visiting museums, parks etc. I am a musician and was trained at a classical music school in high school and still maintain some of these skills, especially in basic piano, percussion (African drums), music theory and classical voice and would love to implement these into any daily care giving routine. I am unmarried and unattached and run on a free schedule because I would like to see the word and work with as many different cultures as I can before returning to formal education. While I do not have full time childcare experience as of yet, I do have 6 years of private tutoring experience for all ages, as well as full time teaching experiences for children of aged 11 and up and have a specialized primary and high school post graduate teaching qualification. I intent to provide care for the children based on my experience as a homeroom teacher, after school carer, private tutor, mentor and counsellor for children from various racial and socioeconomic backgrounds. I have an extensive knowledge of how to care for children and what their needs are based on their home environments based on working experience and teacher training. I connect with children very easily and enjoy spending time with them to learn as much from them, as they hopefully would from me. I would care for them by following the guidelines as set out by their families and keep their time mindfully and educationally occupied within these parameters.

Nanny Details

Email Address Confirmed
Phone Number 917-891-... Confirmed
Provider Type Agencies/Companies
Age Group Primary School
Preteen Teenager
Availability Live Out
Full Time
Long Term
Language English
Days Per Week 5
Hours Per Week 40
Pay Negotiable
Minimum - $11.00
Maximum - $20.00
Services Pet Care
Swimming Supervision
Homework Supervision
Transportation Employee Has Licence
Work Eligibility Sponsorship Required
Household Light Housekeeping
Own Transportation
Number of Children 3
Twins Or Multiple Children Yes
Agencies/Companies Yes


Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Canadian Nanny Provider