Seeking an energetic Full-Time Live-In Caregiver for our cheerful 19 yr. old daughter

Family in Cochrane

Seeking an energetic Full-Time live-in-caregiver for our cheerful 19 yr. old daughter who has special needs. We have been fortunate to have had a kind and lovely caregiver be a part of our family for the last 3 and a half years and she is returning to school. We are a busy household as our daughter is engaged in the following activities: baseball, bowling, horseback riding, horticultural therapy, music therapy, and warm water therapy. She also loves to visit the park, go to movies, attend city outings (zoo, Heritage Park, and shopping/people watching at the mall). At home she likes to bake, "supervise" cooking, make crafts, play board games, read, and of course watch TV (game shows such as Family Feud, Jeopardy & Wheel of Fortune are among her favourites). We are currently exploring having her resume volunteer work at the local humane society. We are looking for a caregiver that will be able to assist her as she participates in this wide range of activities -- we do have part-time caregivers that are able to provide the primary caregiver with assistance for some of these activities. In addition to providing personal care for our daughter, additional responsibilities include meal preparation, laundry, and light housekeeping. Our daughter is diagnosed with Rett Syndrome which is a neurolgoical condition -- this means that she is nonverbal and has limited fine and gross motor skills (at home she walks independently and we use a wheelchair for most community outings which require walking long distances). She requires assistance with bathing, dressing, feeding, and toiletting. She is a "little" young lady -- just under 80 pounds which makes transfers etc. manageable -- she is also very helpful and assists as much as she can with the daily routines of life (i.e: pushing her arms through sleeves during dressing). Our daughter has a very bubbly personality -- she loves socializing. We are fortunate in that there are no behaviour issues -- she is typically full of smiles, however, she will let us know through vocalizations and body language when she is ready for an activity change or a nap! In terms of the accommodation, the caregiver has a large bedroom with a walk-in closet and an ensuite. Furniture includes bed, side table, book shelf, desk, and dresser. Please contact us if you would like further information -- wishing you well in your job search!

Family Details

Email Address Confirmed
Phone Number 403-851-... Confirmed
Preferred Applicants Individuals
Availability Live In
Full Time
Long Term
Language English
Days Per Week 5
Pay Negotiable
Special Needs Physical Disability
Services Swimming Supervision
Training First Aid
Transportation Employee Has Licence
Work Eligibility Criminal Record Check
Household Light Housekeeping
Meal Preparation
Number of Children 1


Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Canadian Nanny Job