Candice C

Summer care for 14 year old with Down syndrome

Want To Be Hired By Candice? Apply Now


Family in Calgary

Job posting for specialized child care this summer. Approx 30-35 hours per week. $20 per hour plus mileage. 6 weeks July 2-20 and July 30-August 17. Monday to Thursday 8-3 and Friday 8-12 plus one evening during the week until approx 8pm. Hi! Cameron is a 14year old girl, finishing grade 8 this year. Cameron has Down syndrome with a moderate/severe intellectual disability, ADHD, and behaviour issues. She takes medication to help manage her ADHD and behaviour. Cameron loves reading, videos on her ipad, swimming, being funny, playing games, colouring, crafts. She is very loving and kind. Camerons speech is quite good and she loves talking about trips to Mexico and vacations. She likes to know what she will be doing in the day and helps to break down her day if you can prepare a visual schedule - maybe one for the morning and then one for the afternoon incorporating some rewards after successfully completing certain tasks as well as break times. Transitions are challenging so having a schedule helps her to know whats coming. We use a timer at home. It can help with quiet time or giving her warnings for transitions coming up. Cameron struggles with all social situations. She needs support to acting appropriate with peers/adults. She likes/wants to be funny and has gotten some laughs over the years by doing certain inappropriate things. We are trying to teach her these are not funny - but its a struggle. She generally doesn't act out at home with mom and dad, but can when it's something more socially demanding like school or camp. That's why we have decided not to do a camp this year and just stick around the house. Daily outings may include walks with the dog, playing on the trampoline, going to the park, crafts, sprinkler time, wii dance and maybe swimming at a local pool or other outings depending on how things are going. Cameron does best with someone who is patient, consistent, able to move past a challenging time. She likes someone who is positive, happy to be with her, someone that can be silly/funny with her. She does her best when you focus on her positives and ignore (when possible) the bad behaviour. She doesn't like someone to hover. She is generally independent and likes her own time. Expect that you will have challenges with Cameron, thats just Cameron. We have 2 other kids, 17 year old boy and 11 year old girl that are very independent, a dog and a cat. In addition to caring for Cameron we are looking for help during the day with: pet care, light housekeeping - generally keeping house tidy/dishes, assisting with care of 11 year old - helping to monitor her play dates, and making sure the kids are fed. Id like to come home to a tidy house. If you think you would like to work with our family this summer please send me a message, or if you know someone please forward to them. We can set up a time so that we can meet each other. We live in the SW community of Discovery Ridge. I can be reached best by text 403-874-.... Thanks! Candice Christie

Family Details

Email Address ...@gmail.com Confirmed
Phone Number 403-874-... Confirmed
Postal Code T3H...
Preferred Applicants Individuals
Age Group
Availability
Language
Days Per Week 5
Hours Per Week 35
Pay Minimum - $20.00
Maximum - $20.00
Hourly
Special Needs
Services
Transportation
Work Eligibility
Household
Number of Children 1

Notes

Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Profile