Beatrice D

New Zealand trained teacher, BEd + 10 years elementary experience.

Want To Connect With Beatrice? Get Started Now

Nanny in Toronto

Kia ora! (Hello!) My name is Beatrice. Im a permanent resident here, moved from New Zealand late last year. Im looking for a job in childcare & education. I have flexibility in start date. A bit about me: Im a pretty relaxed person, Im a feminist and I really love community. I work on drafting patterns for clothing in my spare time and am teaching myself to illustrate fun fabric prints that I can use for my patterns. Mini resume: Im a New Zealand trained and registered elementary teacher with 10 years work experience with 5-9yo. I have a Bachelor of Education and have undertaken a range of post-graduate study & development. I have over 2 years Nannying experience working with ages 5mnth-15yo. I also worked in an Early Childhood centre with new borns - 3yo. I have a growth mindset (Carol Dweck) approach to childrens learning and development, I believe in inclusivity and aim to be as gender-neutral as I can, though this aspect is something Im still building strategies for. I try to get children outdoors as much as possible and use found natural objects (sticks, flowers etc) as learning materials for counting etc. I have a discovery & inquiry based approach to play; a belief that lifelong learning happens when we come to discover and understand new ideas on our own. So I facilitate a lot of rich play-learning experiences and environments that set children up for success, then let them explore and learn for themselves while I standby for guidance. My strengths with younger children (babies, infants and toddlers) are language acquisition and fine & gross motor development, also the huge amounts of love that I have to give to the children I work with. I have always formed very close bonds with the kids I spend time with and still keep in touch with them, even the ones that are all grown up. I can offer music, swimming & ball skills/gymnastics lessons for children & babies of all ages. I do a lot of art exploration and science experiments with kids too. I am proficient in digital education for children (early coding etc) if thats something youre interested in, but typically as a nanny I keep kids screen free unless otherwise requested. I am first aid trained and have a clean police record. I have experience and training in a range of special needs education as well. What Im looking for: Im looking for a family to be a part of, rather than a role as the hired help. With my long background in education, I need a role where I can use my skills and knowledge and have permission to be creative and make day-to-day decisions regarding learning. Im looking for a partnership with parent/s where I am respected as a skilled professional. I have flexible work hours and am open to nanny-share possibilities to help cut family costs. I am also open to a home-care set up where (if I can get 2-3 clients) you could drop your wee one/s off to my home and then pay a discounted rate. I understand that it can be scary to leave your children with a caregiver and aim to make that transition as smooth as possible so that you feel comfortable and safe. Although I always leave the environment clean and tidy before I leave, I love to get kids painting and playing with sensory development materials that can get messy. If you prefer extremely tidy children then Im not the nanny for you... I believe that real learning means getting your hands dirty & that slides are really fun even if you get a bit of a dirty bum. I am not interested in a maid-nanny shared role; I dont offer general housework and cooking. I am of course happy to prepare food for children while they are in my care, and clean up child related messes: hand prints and crumbs and dishes etc. I charge $20-25 an hour and prefer to work on the West end, I live right on Art Eggleton Park.

Nanny Details

Email Address Confirmed
Phone Number 647-668-...
Years of Experience 15
Provider Type Individuals
Age Group
Pay Minimum - $20.00
Work Eligibility


Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Profile