Rebecca Thoms

New Zealand Nanny, Arriving in May 2017

Nanny in Whistler

Hi! I am a 27 year old Kiwi looking to pursue my career in being a nanny. I have recently returned to NZ from living in the UK for almost 5 years, and Adelaide for 7 months. I was a nanny for 90% of the time I was there with the exception of a 6 month experience working in a nursery, in which I ran the 2-year-old class. I have always loved working with children, it is a passion of mine and I am learning to understand it always will be. Currently I am in customer service role, but I do not find it nearly as rewarding or enlightening as a role with children. Right after high school I completed a three year teaching degree in my hometown, at Canterbury University. Though I have not done any full time teaching in a primary school environment, I taught in the 2-year-old room in a private nursery in London for six months, which I adored. My families in the UK consisted of a 6-year-old boy who I had for short time right at the beginning. The second role I had simply entailed being a travel nanny for two girls, aged 7 & 11. We travelled for 8 weeks, the second destination as far away from home as the Caribbean. The third and final job was a combination of two families, in the end. At first I had one then, 2-year old boy. He has two older siblings, both of whom I really only looked after in a babysitting role in the evenings. For the last of the three years I was with this family, I also helped out with the neighbours children two doors down on the same street. Their family make-up consisted of a 5 & 3 year old and new born! While my first charge was attending nursery in the morning during the week, I would help out with the newest one, so mum could spend some quality time with the older two. The family in Adelaide had two children, a 2.5 year old boy and a 2 month old girl. Having grown up nine years the senior of my little brother, I have always been in an environment saturated with children and childcare. I have babysat my brothers for as long as I can remember and moved on to family friends and then a wider circle, as a result of word-of-mouth after that. I worked mainly in hospitality through school, retail while studying and after, and a combination of retail and childcare while abroad. I value the outdoors and learning through play. I encourage children to interact with one another and ensure I am merely there as a guide and caregiver as independence is also hugely important. I have strong leadership skills, but know when it is important to take a step back. I think some of the strongest friendships you can make are made in childhood. Basic life skills can be taught to anyone and everyone. I love cooking and cleaning, and Im not just saying that. I think its very important to incorporate the childrens assistance in such experiences. I believe very strongly it is simple to learn these things in a fun and interesting way. I think all children should not only know how to, but also have the opportunity to at least attempt to learn to ride a bike, to learn to swim. Satisfaction in the work, puts pride in the job, and there is nothing I find more gratifying than helping a child learn and grow. I hope you will consider me to care for your children, safe in the knowledge, I will care for them to the best of my ability. I currently hold a Work Permit for Canada which entitles me to work cumulatively for four years. As a New Zealander, I am able to gain a two year visa. I have a visa on my current passport which expires in April 2018. At this juncture I therefore hold a valid Work Permit and have a visa for 10 months. In the right situation I would look to extend this for the full two years available to me. Full drivers licence First aid (paediatric) Lifeguard Bachelor of Teaching & Learning (Primary)

Nanny Details

Email Address Confirmed
Phone Number 555-555-...
Years of Experience 5
Provider Type Individuals
Age Group Newborn
Early School
Availability Live In
Live Out
Full Time
Long Term
Short Term
Language English
Days Per Week 5
Hours Per Week 40
Pay Negotiable
Minimum - $18.00
Services Pet Care
Swimming Supervision
Homework Supervision
Training First Aid
Early Childhood Education
Transportation Employee Has Licence
Work Eligibility Eligible To Work
Criminal Record Check
Household Light Housekeeping
Meal Preparation
Twins Or Multiple Children Yes
Last Online May 22, 2017 at 9:53 AM EDT
(about 2 hours ago)


Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Canadian Nanny Provider