Susan B

Nanny/Mother's helper (Part-time: Afternoons, dinner-hour)

Family in Thornhill

Nanny/ \"Mother\'s helper\" required for: Andrew, age 6, with autism - happy kid Abigail (Abby), age 2.5 - very happy kid! Both great kids. Mother (Susan) needs an extra set of hands around for: Part-time: mid-afternoon to after-dinner hours (Tuesday, Wed, Thursday = Approximately 15 hours per week minimum). This is a live-out position. We are a 15-min. walk from Yonge St. (down Royal Orchard Blvd.-VIVA stop); however, Someone with a car (for their own transportation) is preferred. You would not be asked to drive children anywhere. Details: - Watch the kids: Play with Abby; watch Andrew\'s whereabouts in the yard or in the house; watch Andrew\'s cues if he needs to use the toilet; be available to help him use toilet, to avoid accidents inside or outside - he will usually ask to go with his toilet picture; may be asked to watch them in backyard pool, or take Andrew for a walk; may be asked to help with food preparation, cooking, clean-up, dishes, and housekeeping/cleaning. Andrew, age 6, with autism, is nonverbal, but is effective at communicating his needs/wants with his PECS binder (Picture Exchange Communication System). He is affectionate, warm, funny, playful, good-natured, and busy! He can be very silent, so if Mom (Susan) is busy in the kitchen preparing meal and/or with Abby, Andrew easily moves to another area of the house -- sometimes requiring help to use toilet, but unable to call down/up for help. Abigail (Abby), age 2.5, is a very happy little girl. She communicates exceptionally well for her age. She likes to play with others, play with her dolls, do stickers and colouring, play outside, have tea, talk about this and that... She sometimes talks more than Andrew can manage, so Andrew will either leave the room on his own, or, get frustrated by crying or sometimes \"poking\" Abby. This can be prevented if Abby is busy playing with someone else, or if Andrew is receiving the attention he needs --- Not always possible if Mom is doing stuff around the house / cooking. Husband (Stuart) gets home around 6pm. Shift may continue past this point to help with dinner clean-up. - We are also interested in having \"additional hours\" one evening some weeks to help with bath/bedtime routine - eventually, to do it alone while we (parents) are out. We look forward to having interested candidates come meet us and the children. We are open to questions or conversation about this job! Andrew, age 6, has autism - nonverbal (uses a PECS binder of pictures to communicate)--a good-natured kid.

Family Details

Email Address ...@....ca Confirmed
Phone Number 905-326-... Confirmed
Age Group Toddler
Primary School
Availability Live Out
Part Time
Long Term
Language English
Hours Per Week 10
Pay Negotiable
Hourly
Special Needs Other
Services Swimming Supervision
Transportation Job Close To Transit
Work Eligibility Criminal Record Check
Household Light Housekeeping
Meal Preparation
Laundry
Number of Children 2

Notes

Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Canadian Nanny Job