May Abu-Shaban

Nanny with 10+ Years of Experience + Vehicle

Want To Connect With May?

Get Started Now

Nanny in Ottawa

I have sixteen years of experience, current first aid & CPR training (certified to first responder level), a full G license, a clean driver's abstract, my own minivan, a police records check for service with the vulnerable sector, and many excellent references. Until July 26th (2017), I will be working part-time on Tuesdays and Wednesdays (with the occasional Monday) for a wonderful family with whom I've worked for the past year. (They are planning on having more kids and are getting a live-in nanny.) They have two VERY energetic boys (ages 4 and 2), so I'm definitely used to reigning in chaos. I find that kids tend to get restless if we just stay home all day (and I get bored!), so I love taking them out to various parks / splash pads (within walking distance or driving distance to change things up), playgroups, and the library. Organizing play dates is also a great way to keep the kids busy if we have to stay indoors for whatever reason (ex.: the weather), or even if we don't! If a family has memberships to museums, they're always a fun way to spend the day (The Children's and Agriculture museums are my favourites!), and memberships to indoor play places (ex.: Cosmic Adventures, Monkey Around) will get the kids all tuckered out and ready for nap time. I have taken kids to organized activities like music classes (ex.: Monkey Rock) or gymnastics, and some parents will pre-approve the occasional outing to places like the zoo (Little Ray's) or Toddler Games. If we sort out the schedule to give me time to do so (ex.: allow young kids who don't nap anymore to have a limited amount of screen time or set older kids up with an independent activity of some kind), I'm happy to help with things like dishes, laundry, and meal prep (during nap time or a period designated for 'downtime'). I follow whichever routine the kids are used to, as directed by the parents. A typical day would look like this... I usually plan a big outing in the morning for a couple of hours and head home around lunch time (either before or after, depending on whether or not I packed lunches to go; picnics are fun when it's nice out!). I then put the toddler down for a nap and do some meal prep or fold some laundry while the older kid has a bit of downtime watching TV. I then spend some time with him reading books, doing arts and crafts, baking, doing child-friendly science experiments, or working in an exercise book (numbers, letters, colours, shapes, etc.). When the toddler wakes up, it's snack time, then we have some active play (indoors or out, based on the weather). Depending on when my day ends, I might feed the kids dinner before I leave. I'm mainly looking for a long-term position (at least 6 months-1 year) but will also consider short-term positions. I'm open to either part-time or full-time hours. I can provide some flexibility in terms of taking on additional hours every once in a while (evenings or weekends) so you can have a night out or get errands / chores done, and I can do occasional overnights if you'd like to go out of town for short periods of time (with enough notice). If you'd like to set up an interview, I can be reached through this Web site, via e-mail at, or on my cell phone at 613-262-... (calls or texts). I look forward to hearing from you!

Nanny Details

Email Address Confirmed
Phone Number 613-262-... Confirmed
Postal Code K1T...
Years of Experience 16
Provider Type Individuals
Age Group Newborn
Early School
Primary School
Preteen Teenager
Availability Live Out
Full Time
Part Time
Summer Only
Long Term
Short Term
Duration Summer Only
Language English
Pay Negotiable
Minimum - $15.00
Maximum - $20.00
Special Needs Other
Mental Health
Severe Allergies
Physical Disability
Intellectual Disability
Tourettes Syndrome
Services Pet Care
Swimming Supervision
Homework Supervision
Training First Aid
Transportation Employee Has Vehicle
Employee Has Licence
Job Requires Vehicle
Employer Provides Vehicle
Job Close To Transit
Employer Can Transport Employee
Work Eligibility Eligible To Work
Criminal Record Check
Household Light Housekeeping
Meal Preparation
Own Transportation
Number of Children 5
Twins Or Multiple Children Yes


Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Canadian Nanny Provider