My name is Shannon and I get great joy out of working with children


Nanny in Victoria

My name is Shannon and I get great joy out of working with children. They inspire me and teach me something new every day. I have an extensive background with the Montessori philosophy. I attended a Montessori school from age 3 up to grade 7 and I got my primary teacher training (ages 3 to 6) from the AMI Montessori Training Centre of BC, where I also got my ECE licence. I taught for 1 year in a Montessori school, taking a maternity position in a primary classroom. In this classroom I also got the opportunity to work closely with two children with Autism, whom I became very close with. I have a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology and received an International Baccalaureate Diploma when I lived in England. I have current Emergency Childcare First Aid CPR and AED training. My joy for working with children began when I was 9 years old and my cousin was born. When he was about 2, my sister and I would babysit him over the summer. He and I were very close. When I was 13 I got my babysitter training and began babysitting for him on my own, and a few other families on a regular basis. One family had 3 boys, ages 5, 7, and 9 when I started. It was my responsibility to watch them after school, entertaining them without TV, computer or video games, prepare dinner, help with homework and get them ready for bed. Another family had 2 girls ages 10 months and 4 years. I watched them during the summer, so we were outside most of the day, going to the park, having picnics, making crafts, etc. I would prepare meals, and keep the house clean. They also had a puppy that I watched. I\'m a strong advocate of eating healthy and exercising. I\'m always searching Pinterest for new and interesting ideas to keep children busy without sitting in front of a screen. I enjoy crafts and baking with children, and also have a love for children\'s books. This past year I have been working a maternity position at a Montessori School where I, and another teacher, have had responsibility of a classroom of 20 children. I was also a Special Education Assistant for 2 children diagnosed with Autism and an additional 2 children with undiagnosed special needs, as well as supervised after school care. It was my responsibility to prepare the classroom to provide an enriching environment for all of the children. I also had the responsibility of preparing snack, supervising during outside play time and at field trips, tracking goals for the children with special needs and initiating fun games and art activities. From the age of 13 to 16 I babysat for a few different families regularly. One family had 3 boys, ages 3, 5, and 7. I watched them after school, preparing dinner for them, keeping them entertained without screens, aiding with homework, and preparing them for bed. Another family was 2 girls, 10 months old and 4 years. I watched them during the summer, so spent most of the day with them, going for picnics, to the park, preparing meals, changing diapers. They also had a puppy which I cared for.

Nanny Details

Email Address
Phone Number
Years of Experience 1
Age Group Infants
Primary School
Availability Live Out
Full Time
Long Term
Language English
Pay Minimum - $18.00
Special Needs Severe Allergies
Services Pet Care
Swimming Supervision
Homework Supervision
Training First Aid
Early Childhood Education
Work Eligibility Eligible To Work
Criminal Record Check
Household Light Housekeeping
Meal Preparation
Own Transportation
Number of Children 5
Twins Or Multiple Children Yes


Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Canadian Nanny Provider