Meghan S

My name is Meghan Scrimgeour and I am 25 years old

Want To Connect With Meghan? Get Started Now


Nanny in Calgary

My name is Meghan Scrimgeour and I am 25 years old. In 2014 I graduated from Laurentian University with Gerontology and in 2015 received a certificate from McMaster University as a Acquired Brain Injury Rehabilitation Therapist. Ever since I was young I have always known that I wanted to help people who were in need of extra assistance. In order to turn helping people into a career, I decided to study gerontology at the University Level. Upon graduation, I was lucky enough to find a job working at Brain Injury Services of Hamilton and a year following at Genesis Community Rehabilitation. My three years at both Brain Injury and Genesis were both intense but nonetheless very rewarding. In 2016 I moved to Alberta hoping to continue my career in the social services field. In March 2017 I was offered a position at Vecova as a Community Access Practioner working with clients with a wide range of disabilities. These three jobs have involved developing hands on skills including but not limited to: achieving the highest standards of wellbeing while in the community and independently, supporting clients in achieving volunteer/career opportunities, analyzing/correcting an immense amount of behaviours, designing/evaluating programs for a variety of clients based on their needs, providing one-to-one/group activities, providing medication administration, providing one-to-one personal care and implementing crisis intervention strategies when necessary. I have worked with a ride range of disorders/disabilities including Visually Impaired, Partially Deaf, Paralysis, Cerebral Palsy, Fetal Alcohol Syndrome, Down Syndrome and Autism Spectrum Disorder. Even though these jobs did not involve exclusively working with older adults, the experiences I underwent allowed me to discover that I wanted to pursue helping individuals in need as a fulltime career. My work with Brain Injury, Genesis Rehabilitation and Vecova over the past four years has provided me with experience in working with individuals in both a communal setting and on their own with supports from the community. These clients either have a primary diagnosis of acquired brain injury or multiple disabilities and on top of that they have a varying secondary diagnosis ranging from psychiatric, visual or physical disabilities and impairments. It is also common for these clients to suffer from multiple mental health illnesses that include Depression, Bipolar Disorder, Multiple Personality Disorder, delusional thoughts, suicidal thoughts and Schizophrenia. I have been babysitting since I was 14 years of age. Summer of 2011 I worked at the Toronto Zoo which surrounded me with an immense number of children. Summer of 2010 to summer of 2011 I worked at Trillium Montessori school working in a classroom of 30 children between the ages of 15 months to 3 years of age. In the summer of 2013 I worked as a camp counsellor with the YMCA of Niagara working with 40 children between the ages of 3.5 to 7 years of age. I currently am looking for work in the Calgary area. My Fianc and I moved out in September 2016 and have been here ever since! If you think I would be a good fit for you family please feel free to contact me!

Nanny Details

Email Address ...@gmail.com Confirmed
Phone Number 289-696-... Confirmed
Postal Code T3A...
Years of Experience 11
Provider Type Individuals
Age Group
Availability
Language
Days Per Week 5
Hours Per Week 40
Pay Minimum - $19.00
Maximum - $24.00
Hourly
Special Needs
Services
Training
CPR
Transportation
Work Eligibility
Household
Number of Children 5
Twins Or Multiple Children Yes

Notes

Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Profile