Mackenzie B

My name is Mackenzie Bissett and I am currently a 22-year-old student recent graduate from The...


Note: this nanny requires sponsorship. Learn more: Everything You Need to Know about Sponsoring a Foreign Nanny or contact our support team.
My name is Mackenzie Bissett and I am currently a 22-year-old student recent graduate from The University of Michigan in the United States. I have completed my undergraduate degree in three years and would like to eventually pursue a PhD at University of British Columbia. I majored in International Studies with minors in Scandinavian Studies and Asian Studies. I plan on continuing to purse International Studies at UBC and ultimately want to work as a professor or research in the subject area of international politics. My aspirations for moving abroad for graduate school stem from spending my childhood growing up in Europe. My father was a hockey player and I spent the first ten years of my life moving around Europe and spent extensive time in Finland, Germany, Switzerland and Sweden. This time abroad has left me fluent in Swedish and comfortable with traveling and living in new places. I spent the last summer working at an international company in Sweden, Esri and S-GROUP Solutions, as an intern in the marketing and human resources department and am fluent in Swedish. I would like to take the next step and attend graduate school abroad as well. However, while I am working my way through this degree I would like to compliment this path being an au pair or nanny. This would allow me to connect with people in a completely new city and have a sense of belonging. I do intend to attend school eventually but not the first couple of years and for sure not full time. I am looking for a position and for a family that is flexible. I of course can be flexible as well. I have spent not only the last seven years as a babysitter for various families and children but also the last year as a freelance nanny for various families. I have spent time as a live in nanny as the sole caretaker of a 2 and 4 year old and was in charge of everything from preparing breakfast, lunch, snacks, and dinner to driving them to various sporting events and activities. I was also in charge of planning fun day trips and excursions and in keeping the kids entertained everyday. These day trips included visits to the children\'s, walks and hikes in a nearby park, trips to the beach, weekly visits to the library and so much more. I have nannied for various other nannies as well on more of a part time scale and duties for these family range from picking the kids up from school to preparing dinner to spending the week with the kids while the parents are on vacation. I am fully equipped to run a household and for all things to run smoothly. During my time nannying I have become an older sister to these special children and have truly been welcomed into their family. I have also been babysitting regularly for over seven years for various families and I am comfortable with children of any age, from newborn to teenager. I have gained valuable experience from babysitting children from so many different families and of different ages. I have been caring for or working with children over the past decade, from babysitting to tutoring and serving as a tennis coach. I do not choose these jobs because I have to but rather because I love kids and I love having the ability to positively impact a child\'s life. I am a happy person and absolutely love children and would love the opportunity to be a part of your children\'s lives. I hope that we can be in contact shortly. I would love to hear back from you. Best regards, Mackenzie Bissett Shemes Family June 2014-August 2014: Live-in Nanny Ithaca, MI Ages of children upon hire: 2 and 4 years old Responsibilities: During these three months I was a full time, live in nanny responsible for two children at least twelve hours a day. I prepared breakfast, lunch and snacks and kept laundry and basic household chores running. Regular trips to the park were planned as well as play dates and weekly story time visits to the library and extensive driving to various summer camps ranging from soccer to basketball to ballet as well as day trips to childrens museums or blueberry picking expeditions. I also grocery shopped and made trips to the farmers market. These children have the biggest hearts and the biggest imaginations so creativity was crucial. As a result trips to the grocery store turned into treasure hunts complete with pirate swords and stuffed animals into patients at a doctors office. Arts and crafts and outdoor activities were staples of the summer as well. Reason for leaving: Mother gave birth to third child and went on maternity leave. Wolfe Family September 2014-present: Part-time Nanny Grand Rapids, MI Ages of children upon hire: 5, 9, and 13 years old Responsibilities: I have spent extensive amounts of time with this family including an entire week and overnight while the parents were in Mexico. This family is always busy and on the go so a regular day generally includes drop offs and pick ups at two different schools and then driving to various activities including ballet, tennis, soccer or archery. Preparing meals, snacks, prepping the girls for school, helping with homework and leaving time for playing and fun before bedtime are all a part of the territory. This family also has a kitten and a new puppy so I am comfortable with caring for both. Reason for leaving: Still employed. Barnett Family September 2014-Present: Part-time Nanny Grand Rapids, MI Ages of children upon hire: 2, 5, and 7 years old Responsibilities: For this particular family I nanny part time. A regular day generally includes picking the kids up from school, getting after school snacks, homework and playtime in before dinner, bathtime and bedtime. Again, these children have the biggest imaginations so there is plenty of time spent playing dress up, having tea parties, nerf gun wars or running around outside. Reason for leaving: Still employed. Duffy Family September 2014-Present: Part-time Nanny Grand Rapids, MI Ages of children upon hire: 5 years old | Girl (5) Responsibilites: This family I have known for over ten years and have just recently started nannying their daughter part time. A regular day for us generally includes breakfast, getting dressed, an activity like soccer practice or swimming and then some play time (drawing, play dough, board games) and then lunch. I have also taken this child to the doctors office and spent time with her while she has been sick. I am completely comfortable in caring for children in all settings or circumstances. Reason for leaving: Still employed.

Nanny Details

Email Address
Phone Number 616-881-...
Years of Experience 6
Age Group Infants
Primary School
Availability Live In
Full Time
Part Time
Long Term
Short Term
Language English
Pay Negotiable
Special Needs Severe Allergies
Intellectual Disability
Services Pet Care
Training CPR
Work Eligibility Sponsorship Required
Number of Children 5
Twins Or Multiple Children Yes


Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Canadian Nanny Provider