Amanda J

Loving, fun, firm and reliable nanny

Want To Connect With Amanda? Get Started Now


Nanny in Ottawa

One of my greatest joys is participating in children's lives as they grow and change. I am very progress and people-oriented. I have over 10 years experience in caring for families of all kinds- up to 5 children, up to 13 years of age (infants included). I have experience caring for children with specific allergy and dietary needs, along with special needs (i.e. epilepsy and required medications). Strengths include unwavering optimism, excellent communication skills, competence in taking direction, strong leadership, attention to detail, dutiful respect for and participation in all family dynamics such as faith, schedules, health, and traditions. My passions are in music (I love to sing), hiking, and outdoor playing, and I have a quick wit! I have included what I'm looking for just under my work history below. Childcare history includes: 2017- Periodic, as needed infant care and mother helping. Duties included light housework, participating in their sleep training routines, bathing, excursions, and creative soothing as he was teething. 2014 to 2016- I worked with two energetic little boys aged 3 and 4. For the first year I was with them every day, for meals, play time, reading, play group, nap time, potty training- for all the ups and downs of family life. Their family recently moved out of town. Hours fluctuated (20-50), and flexible depending on the season, but it worked well for all of us. 2012- I worked with 2 other women at a camp for girls from low-income families. For 5 weeks, I worked with 15 girls aged 10-13. Full time, summer job, frequent over time. Duties included mentoring support, budgeting, communication with parents, teaching english lessons, taking them out on excursions throughout the city, and playing. Contract ended in August. --... This family I worked for had two girls. 1 to 2 times a week care, limited weekend overnight care, and special events (i.e. dance recitals). I spent most of my time with the middle child, with whom I helped in all areas of school, and mentoring. She is epileptic, lives with a spinal condition, and one of the most talented, intelligent, creative and excellent children I've had the privilege of working with. Her grades went up two letter grades in less than a year, and it was an honour working with this family. Duties included creative tutoring, being a friend, making meals, doing laundry, participating in family life, and mentoring. They got her very special care later, and were no longer needing my services. 2009- 3 boys, but sometimes their neighbors were dropped off with me- so I often had five boys ages 5 through 11 on my hands. Duties included feeding, followed by lots of cleaning, playing, disciplining, and learning about Star Wars. No special dietary needs but the family was very natural, vegetarian, and didn't believe in microwaves or toasters and had their own garden. Very fun! Contract ended when school began for them again. --... a family of one boy, age 5, for 2 years until his little brother stopped going to all-day care, and then I cared for them both. After school every day/limited weekend care. Two very high energy boys, duties included taking them off the bus, cleaning out lunches, making snack, homework help if needed, caring for family pets (2 dogs, 2 cats), and sometimes making dinner. --... My first family was 2 girls aged 4 and 7. Friday night/ weekend care only. The youngest one lived with extreme separation anxiety, and the eldest with high allergy needs (wheat). _____________________________________________ If you have children under the age of 10, I am very comfortable discussing homeschooling/worldschooling options. I will happily adjust salary based on memberships/passes (eg. bus passes, pools, museums), insurance, meals, number of children, and schedule flexibility- I very much value a positive relationship with the families higher than pay! I'm comfortable doing Nanny shares for families in the same neighborhood who might have irregular schedules but want consistent childcare, or to help both families float the cost of childcare. I'm available part time until Fall 2018, at which time I can take on full-time commitments. For first time nanny employers and/or schooling and tutoring clients, I can walk you through contracts and tax protocols. If you feel like my Mary Poppins-esque demeanor is the right fit for your family, then I very much look forward to meeting you.

Nanny Details

Email Address ...@hotmail.com Confirmed
Phone Number 613-410-... Confirmed
Postal Code K4K...
Years of Experience 11
Provider Type Individuals
Age Group
Availability
Language
Pay Minimum - $18.00
Maximum - $25.00
Hourly
Special Needs
Services
Training
CPR
Transportation
Work Eligibility
Household
Number of Children 5
Twins Or Multiple Children Yes

Notes

Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Recommendations for Amanda J

Canadiannanny listing 100x100
Elizabeth S

Working with Amanda is a constant joy. Amanda is a dedicated hard worker with incredible leadership skills. She is impressively organized and great at balancing work and play. She was raised to be an independent person, and applies that to her nannying, with notable results. She is both a teacher and a student, curious and always learning. Her self confidence is backed by natural talent, intelligence, and ability. There is not enough space to truly explain how great she is.

Share This Profile