Maria Christakos

Looking to nurture and support a family

Nanny in North York

Thank you for taking the time to read this profile. A little about me: I am originally from the USA- born and raised in Philadelphia, PA. I grew up in the restaurant/bar industry (with live venues)-being Greek BIG surprise there! After my father passed away (my mother passed away a few years prior) I relocated to South Florida where I dabbled in office work and joined the world of retail. I shot up the ranks and became Co Manager. So I am sure by now you are wondering HOW did I end up in Canada? More importantly-WHY did I leave sunny Florida?! What drives people to move across the continent?? besides a criminal record I suppose (bad joke). *Drum roll* I met my husband who is Canadian. I have been living here in Toronto since May 2011. Due to an unfortunate last minute circumstance of not being able to transfer with my company for work-due to not being provided an Open Work Permit I had a gap in my work history. For my first nearly 2 years I was dealing with the sponsorship process, FBI back round checks, paperwork and waiting for my Open Work Permit and eventually Permanent Residency Status. However, I was a nanny for about 5 months until I decided to go back to the retail field. I was caring for a 4 month old baby and occasionally the older sibling 2 yrs old. I thought it was time to join the work force again and conquer the Canadian market. I think I had to prove it to myself. I love my job overall. I currently run a $1.3 million volume store....over see about 18 employees (off holiday season). I enjoy the challenges and rewards of course. But I am finding it hard to maintain work-life balance. But there is a point in ones life you have to do a cost benefit analysis. The pay, the bonuses vs your time off, and your time off you are working, the stress levels can be quite intense. If I were single I think it would be ok. But my time is not my own anymore. I treat my job as if it were MY business. No different than I would care/treat your family and possessions. My current work schedule is varied and brutal at times long hours and weekends/holidays. I am looking for more normalcy, I suppose is the proper wording. I am not adverse to working hard (obviously)-but looking for more structured shifts and something more wholesome. I enjoy the customer loyalty-the relationships I've built with my team and our "neighborhood customers". I know their names, genuinely connect etc. Which makes me happy in seeing that growth. I would like to have more of a direct impact.... I have always been around children, babysitting for friends/family (even for free as a teenager, because I enjoyed it so much). I enjoy cooking and can support in meal preparation, fun snack presentations. I was originally an art major in school. However running a business with a single parent my dreams took a back burner. I love animals!! I rescused a 3 legged kitten and she's still going strong 9 years later. And I also have a dog-a Pembroke Welsh Corgi (my furbabies). I enjoy being outdoors, arts and crafts, reading. I am creative and can easily entertain children. I know when to be firm and instill proper decorum. I enjoy gardening- not just flowers....I currently have a veggie garden (with the help of my in-laws): 20 tomato plants, 10 peppers, eggplants, cucumbers, celery, basil etc.

Nanny Details

Email Address Confirmed
Phone Number 647-783-... Confirmed
Years of Experience 15
Provider Type Individuals
Age Group Newborn
Early School
Primary School
Preteen Teenager
Availability Live Out
Full Time
Part Time
Long Term
Short Term
Language English
Days Per Week 5
Hours Per Week 45
Pay Hourly
Special Needs Diabetes
Services Pet Care
Swimming Supervision
Homework Supervision
Training First Aid
Transportation Employee Has Vehicle
Employee Has Licence
Employer Provides Vehicle
Job Close To Transit
Work Eligibility Eligible To Work
Criminal Record Check
Household Light Housekeeping
Meal Preparation
Own Transportation


Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Canadian Nanny Provider