Bernadette Leland

Looking for a family who's willing to take in an enthusiatic Nanny who values personal relationships

Nanny in Kitchener

My name is Bernadette. I am an 18 year-old (female) graduated Canadian student. I come from a family of 5: My parents, Reg and Paula, my father works in education; University of Waterloo a local University and my Mum is a Director of Care (DOC) at a nursing home in a near by city; Cambridge. I have one sister and one brother. My eldest sister Joanne, is 20 years old and is currently working full time in order to save for post secondary education. My youngest brother Matthew is 16 years old and still attending high school, he also has a job, but mainly focuses on his academics. In about a year or two I plan to pursue on attending University and getting a degree in Human and Social Development mainly focusing on psychology and Social work, but I am yet to make up my mind concerning my future area of specialization. So, at the moment, I would like to take some time out of academics to have a different life experience, and to have time to calmly reflect on my future academic/professional orientation. To this end, I think spending time abroad would be particularly interesting. I couple years ago I lived with my family in the South of England for a full year, although I was being looked after by my family the experience of being away from home, meeting new people, learning a different culture was all so intriguing and I loved every part of it. This past summer of 2015 I returned to the UK and worked all summer (I have dual citizenship) along with catching up with family and friends I had made the previous year. My first language is English, and I have very basic knowledge of French. I started learning French in elementary and continued It up to the end of ninth grade; first year of high school. Although my knowledge of other languages may be slightly restricted I find that being immersed in the culture with other languages you are able to learn better and pick up more of the language, due to being surrounded by it constantly. I am particularly interested in experiencing family life in United Kingdom again, or somewhere different where what is offered is different to the typical Canadian/English ways of living; offers a cultural context that is undoubtedly different from mine. For this reason, I would very much like to find a nice family to live with and work for in an abroad county. When it comes to child care experience, I have looked after children in both formal and informal contexts. For the past 4 years I have been a Camp counselor. This entails working with children from infants to adults. I also worked with many children who had special needs and a few disabled children/adults. I organized for them and took part in recreational indoor and outdoor activities: we sang, danced, played games, role played, drew, painted, and narrated stories. Water front activities were prominent in the summer activities. One of the years at this camp I took the position of the lifeguard; I am a fully certified and teacher lifeguard, in Canada; this includes all of the first aid (emergency/standard) and CPR training. I was also a babysitter for many families. One consisted of 4 boys aged 2-6 years and one girl aged 3 years. I once had a summer job caring for a young girl (Sahara) who was aged 6. Similar activities listed from Camp counseling I did with these children. Bike riding, walks, parks, splash pool and winter activities like sledding, building snowmen I did with the children as well. I have helped my parents look after my brother and sister since birth. Although my looking after them is less needed as we are all grown up. As a teenager, I was nevertheless much more involved in caring for them on a daily basis. In addition, my sister, younger brother and I spent a lot of time playing with our neighbors two children; and once moved to a different neighborhood so from time to time I find myself in more childrens company. I can comfortably say that I sincerely enjoy spending time with children. When it comes to leisure, I take pleasure in the simple things in life. I enjoy being outdoors, being with my friends, going for walks, visiting places I have not been to. I like to get out and get physical. I have a gym membership and exercise 5 days a week. I love to be around people, more so then I love being alone. I find safety and comfort around people and especially enjoy myself when people are learning and discovering. As much as I love to get involved I also like to take time and sit in the backseat and observe and appreciate the peace and beauty within our world. I have a photography hobby. I love to take pictures of people (portraits) and landscape. I think there is so much unseen and by capturing these moments to be still we can see that, as well as hold on to it. As far as preferences are concerned, I am looking for a live-in arrangement with a host family, that would be happy to have me stay with and work for them for at least 3-6 months. I would also prefer looking after children aged between 6 months to 12 years. Lastly, although I am quite flexible, I would prefer to have working hours that would allow me to have time for myself and meet others as well as mini travelling within taking care of the children. I would be happy to have the opportunity to speak with you: to answer whatever questions you may have about me or my childcare experiences; to learn more about your family; your interests and to know more about what you expect from the au pair arrangement. Thank you very much for your interest in my application! I look forward to hearing from you. Yours Sincerely, Bernadette Leland

Nanny Details

Email Address
Phone Number 226-338-... Confirmed
Provider Type Individuals
Age Group Newborn
Early School
Primary School
Availability Live Out
Part Time
Short Term
Language English
Days Per Week 5
Hours Per Week 50
Pay Negotiable
Minimum - $15.00
Maximum - $25.00
Special Needs Diabetes
Mental Health
Severe Allergies
Physical Disability
Services Pet Care
Swimming Supervision
Homework Supervision
Transportation Employee Has Licence
Work Eligibility Eligible To Work
Criminal Record Check
Household Light Housekeeping
Meal Preparation
Own Transportation
Number of Children 3


Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Canadian Nanny Provider