Profile photo

Jennifer C

New Calgary Family Needs a Supportive Caregiver and Housekeeper
Calgary, Alberta
Active over a week ago
18/hr

Want to be hired by Jennifer?

Apply Now

Nanny Job in Calgary, Alberta

Our family recently moved to Calgary, Alberta from Nova Scotia. Foremost in our minds is providing a supportive environment to help our three children with this relocation. We are looking for a loving, mature and active caregiver who knows Calgary well and can help our family discover all the wonderful things that our new home has to offer, while providing stability and support to our children and our family. We have three daughters, aged 6, 10 and 12 and will be located in North West Calgary. All children attend elementary school from 8am – 3pm (dismissal 2 pm on Friday). Hours of Work (School Year) - 30-40 hours of work during school year (negotiable) Minimum 1pm to 6pm - 5 days per week is required. Flexibility is a huge asset to cover occasion extra hours (i.e. pd days, sick days, when mother travels for work). Extra hours above normal work hours will be paid as overtime at the same wage. Hours of Work (Summer mid-June - Sept) - 45 hours per week: 8 am to 5pm - 5 days per week Family travel during the summer is usually 4 weeks (often late July - 3rd week of Aug) - caregiver will receive vacation during this time. Flexibility needed: Occasional early morning/evening childcare will be required. Additional payment will be provided for these hours should they exceed normal weekly hours. Very rarely, if the mother travels for work, overnight/weekend work is needed. A private guest bedroom/bathroom on a separate floor is available for these overnights. Start date: Asap; however, the position will be advertised and interviews held until the right match is found. Please send resume and cover letter to: [email protected] Primary responsibilities will be divided between housekeeping and childcare. Childcare responsibilities will include: school pickup and taking children to daily activities, helping with homework, crafts or games with the children and outdoor time whenever possible. Housekeeping activities (when children are in school) will include: loading and emptying dishwasher, washing dishes, emptying garbage cans, tidying up, organizing children’s belongings, bedrooms, and playroom, doing family laundry and grocery shopping. Some house cleaning and basic meal preparation will also be required. Requirements: Experience as a nanny required; a driver's license and own vehicle is required. Caregiver will be compensated for gas costs. A completed criminal record check, child abuse registry, child first aid/CPR course, and a driving record check are required. Salary: minimum $18/hour or higher (depending on education and experience), guaranteed hours will be paid bi-weekly via cheque; taxes, EI and CPP (and employer EI and CPP contributions) will be held and submitted by employer. Overtime hours will be compensated separately. Holidays: The following paid holidays will be provided: New Year’s Day, Good Friday, Victoria Day, Canada Day, Natal Day, Labour Day, Thanksgiving Day, Remembrance Day, Christmas Day, and Boxing Day. Vacation: 5-6 weeks paid vacation; paid vacation must be taken at a time when the family is also on vacation. Family typically takes 3-4 weeks in summer, 1.5 weeks at Christmas, and 1 week at March break. At least 3 months notice is needed for scheduling of any additional vacation time; this time will be provided unpaid. Sick Days: 5 paid sick days per year ($50 per unused sick day will be provided in the form of a bonus at the end of the year). Other benefits: a petty cash fund for activities with children; family has membership to the Calgary Winter Club.

Availability

You can work:
Live out
Full-time
Part-time
Long term

Required Experience

You can look after:
3 children
Ages include:
Primary School 7-11 years
Preteen/teen 12+ years

Services Needed

Your responsibilities will include:
Pet care
Housekeeping
Swim supervision
Meal prep
Groceries
Homework help
Errands
Laundry

Required Qualifications

You can speak
English

Job Details

Transportation on the job:
Driver's license
Vehicle required
Close to transit
Has own vehicle

Share This Profile

Want to be hired by Jennifer?

Apply Now
Find Nannies Jobs in Calgary, Alberta
More jobs in Calgary, Alberta

Want to be hired by Jennifer?

Apply Now