Profile photo

Cory W

Looking for enthusiastic, patient, organized part-time after school help 10-12hrs/week
Calgary, Alberta
Active over a week ago
5 yrs experience
16/hr

Want to be hired by Cory?

Apply Now

Nanny Job in Calgary, Alberta

We are a busy family with 3 little ones. We are looking for a cheery, patient, and organized nanny starting in late August 2021. Aulden/"Aulie" (9yrs, grade 4) is a bright, focused, and caring kid with a passion for chess, Minecraft, and playing soccer. He is helpful, sarcastic, and always curious. Though sometimes too big for his own britches, he does actually know where everything is, how everything works, and all our house rules - he is always a big help to our childcare, and helps look after the pets too. Eli (7yrs, grade 2) is tenderhearted and snuggly. His laugh is contagious and adores his brother and sister. He has a silly sense of humour, and loves to be outdoors, build Lego, bake - he loves a project. He loves to read books, play Minecraft, and music with intensity, as well as going to SPARK (if that’s ever a thing again) He has a mild form of epilepsy that is well controlled by meds, but he often needs guidance completing steps of complex tasks. Caia (3 years) is smiley and chatty, and often happy to do what her brothers are doing. But she is opinionated and wonderfully willful, but hilarious. She loves animals, science, playing doctor, and anything artsy and crafty, baking, etc. She can sit and listen to you read for *hours*. She will be attending preschool 2-3 days/week in the Fall. Cory is a professor of education and Jenn is a midwife. Due to the nature of Jenn's work, she is sometimes home while on call (sometimes sleeping after a long birth). We are flexible on hours, looking for someone who can work somewhere around (10hrs/week), and who has the ability to work an occasional evening or a weekend for date nights or conferences. The oldest kids don't need much one-on-one time with a grown up to remain entertained, but do need someone to help guide them through transitions, especially to and from school, and help with snacks/meals. The school shuffle would be a significant component of the job (we'll provide the car for this, and for fun outings too). Due to the nature of their progressive school, none of the kids have homework and won't until grade 7 (thank goodness for no power struggles!). Now that our kids are older, and more self-entertaining, we are looking for someone would help out with meal preparation, dishes, laundry, organization and light cleaning, as time permits. We do have regular house cleaning and dog-grooming services, and a Roomba vacuum, but mess accumulates fast in a busy house, so our minimum request is that the house be as clean at the end of the day as it started at the beginning of your day. We would also love for you to have the skills to patiently engage the kids in making progress in learning the steps to clean up after themselves. All of our kids have some age-appropriate skills in this area, and we regularly have family clean-ups, but as most parents can tell you, it is a work in progress! A few things to know about our family: We keep a plant-based diet, so it would be ideal if you knew how to prepare well-balanced vegan fare, or take the initiative to learn. Our kids all love to bake, and are keenly familiar with the prep of their favourite foods. Our discipline style with our kids involves clear boundaries, but always with respect, kindness, and patient communication. We are looking for a longer-term commitment, because we feel our kids would benefit from consistency. We have a 1 yr old Golden retriever puppy named Biscuit. And other than occasionally stealing unattended food, he is very easy and well behaved. Our cat Pearl is our most recent addition. She is a loving kitty, and in typical cat fashion, she "tolerates" everyone who loves her. We live in Parkland SE, within walking distance of four playgrounds, and a short drive away from Park 96 (the community park). We have a basement playroom full of games, Legos, puzzles, a massive collection of art supplies, and a large backyard with veggie gardens and fruit trees. If you think we would be a good fit for you, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Availability

You can work:
Live out
Part-time
Long term

Required Experience

You can look after:
3 children
Ages include:
Early School 4-6 years
Primary School 7-11 years
You have advanced experience with:
Twins/multiples
Other
Epilepsy

Services Needed

Your responsibilities will include:
Pet care
Housekeeping
Meal prep
Errands
Laundry

Required Qualifications

First Aid
CPR
Background check
You can speak
English

Training

You have been trained as:
Early childhood educator (ECE)
Foodsafe

Job Details

Transportation on the job:
Driver's license
Vehicle provided

Recommendations

Natalia Baker

I recommend Cory W as a nanny

Xenia Hollinger

I recommend Cory W as a nanny

Share This Profile

Want to be hired by Cory?

Apply Now
Find Nannies Jobs in Calgary, Alberta
More jobs in Calgary, Alberta

Contact

CareGuide Inc.

WaterPark Place

1100 - 20 Bay Street

Toronto, ON

M5J 2N8