1. Nanny Jobs
  2. Canada
  3. Nova Scotia
  4. Halifax

Todd & Ashley M

No reviews yet
Loving Family of 4 in South End Halifax Needs Full Time Live-Out Nanny
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Active about 12 hours ago | Posted over a month ago
2 years exp.

Nanny Job in Halifax, Nova Scotia

I'm an
Loving couple with two children (boy – 18 months and girl – 3.5 years) in south-end Halifax hiring a fulltime nanny for 40-45 hours per week. Our ideal nanny has a calm, loving, and positive demeanor, works well in a team environment, adores children and is looking for a long-term position where they can grow and become part of our family for many years to come. Start Date: Immediate, no later than October 15th Rate: $27-30/hour Hours: M-F, 8am to approximately 5pm, except for 1 day/week which will be approximately 1pm-10pm (once comfortable doing bedtimes, etc). Breaks and lunch are while the children are asleep or at their daily activities. If possible, we would welcome someone with the flexibility to work an additional evening or day on a weekend once or twice a month - and scheduled together. Vacation: 3 weeks, with the following stipulations: a maximum of 1 day/month in Dec, Jan or Feb, and the balance taken between April and November. All vacation is scheduled in advance with the employer such that we can plan for alternative childcare. Holidays: New Year’s Day, Good Friday, Canada Day, Labour Day, Christmas Day, Boxing Day 1 other paid day off to make up for Nova Scotia Heritage Day (as we have to work that day). Sick Days: 5 paid sick days/year for illness or bereavement. Minimum Requirements: Minimum of 2 years experience with children under the age of 4. Willingness and ability to travel 3-6x per year, and a current passport. Proficiency in oral and written English. Non-smoker. A vehicle, driver's license, and a cautious approach to driving. No criminal record and a completed vulnerable sector check. Willingness and ability to follow Canadian public health guidelines with regards to getting COVID and flu shots. Proof of vaccination required. Children’s first aid certification or willingness to take the course (we will pay for it as well as your time). Comfort with dogs – we have a 10-year-old goldendoodle (“Pickles”) that needs let outs, to be fed at times and occasional walks. A love of being outdoors with children in all seasons. A love of teaching children. 2-4 references. Additional Desired Abilities: The ideal candidate is willing and able to live and work in Inverness, Cape Breton for a portion of July, Aug, and Sep. Cape Breton is a National Geographic “Top 10 Island in the World” and we are within walking distance to beautiful beaches, hikes, nature, and a quaint and bustling tourist town. We will provide meals and accommodations in a nearby apartment/home if available or in a private room in our home for the time you spend in Cape Breton, ideally 2-4 weeks per month. This portion of the role is open to negotiation but really something we are hoping to find for at least next summer. Given that our children are the most important things in our life, we really want “all star” performers that bring a love for their job into our home – and we financially reward top performers such that they are paid at the top end of the range. As a family, we can offer you a wonderful place to work, caring employers, and some fun! We are looking for someone that will add positive energy to our home in a calm and quiet manner, loves all aspects of childcare, and can also do light housekeeping, run errands, and basic meal prep and cooking. About us: We run a modestly sized business in the energy industry as well as a charitable organization. We love the outdoors, hiking, cycling, traveling, reading, quiet time, and adventures! We consider ourselves a very loyal, warm-hearted family that values all our employees and enjoys a good laugh. Primary Responsibilities: Childcare Supervise and care for children Maintain a safe and healthy environment in the home Bathe, dress and feed children; prepare and serve nutritious meals Instruct in personal hygiene and social development Prepare our children for rest periods Prepare and organize activities including outdoor time, crafts, baking, games, as well as outings, and assist children to participate as appropriate Read to our children Tend to the emotional well-being of children Discipline our children according to our directions Secondary Responsibilities: Household Assistance (not to be done while having primary care for children in a manner that becomes unsafe or unfair to them): Assist with care of our dog including walks, meals, and transportation to her rehab appointments on rare occasions, rehab exercises as needed. Housekeeping duties, such as tidying kitchen after meals, washing dishes/loading and unloading dishwasher, sweeping, organizing play area Laundry (Ashley sorts and starts it always but help with changing to dryer, hanging pm drying racks, folding, putting away…etc.. is needed) Meal preparation, such as chopping fruits and veggies, cooking simple meals, and maintaining a list of needed groceries and household items, etc.
Gallery Photo
Gallery Photo
Gallery Photo


Work schedule:
Live in

Required experience

Ages include:
Provider can look after:
Number of children: 2

Required qualifications

Job requires:
Background check
Required languages

Services needed

Responsibilities will include:
Meal prep
Pet care

Share This Profile

More jobs in Halifax, Nova Scotia