Profile photo

Laura S

Seeking after-school nanny/tutor for lively 11 and 7 year olds
Calgary, Alberta
Active over a week ago
3 yrs experience
Pay negotiable

Want to be hired by Laura?

Apply Now

Nanny Job in Calgary, Alberta

We are looking for an engaging after school caregiver to help support our family. Someone who is interested in assisting with homework/learning and providing opportunities for fun would be a great fit for our family. Experience working with children with special needs or learning challenges is a plus. Ability to pick up kids and drive to after school activities in northwest Calgary using our vehicle is required. Must be non-smoking, willing to obtain background checks, and comfortable with large dogs. Hours needed: 3-6 pm M-F. Some flexibility with days/hours. Salary negotiable depending on experience. A little about our family - Laura and Jesse are busy professionals in science/engineering who most often work at home. In their free time they enjoy outdoor activities, trying new restaurants, & going to the movies or theatre. The most precious members of our family are Breanna (who usually goes by Brea) and Wyatt. Brea is an outgoing, inquisitive, and caring 11 year old who loves to read, sing, rock climb, snowboard, and hang out with her friends. Wyatt is a sweet, intelligent, and athletic 7 year old who loves to bike, ski, build Lego, and play MineCraft, basketball, and baseball. Brea and Wyatt attend school full time (6th and 2nd grades, respectively) and will require care after school. We also have three pets: black lab Beau, sweet kitty Lyla, and guinea pig Newt. Wyatt has high functioning Autism Spectrum Disorder. He completed 3 years of intensive therapy, learning to communicate his sensory processing challenges, and improve self-regulation. He receives a little extra support in the classroom (mainly with organization and focus), but otherwise is a typical, fully-participatory student a public school classroom. He makes friends everywhere he goes, and loves playing with kids in the neighborhood and at the playground. He does very well in school and participates in on-line after-school tutoring programs in math and reading, but needs support to complete his homework – someone who is interested in providing learning support with awareness of special needs is a perfect fit for us. We love to be active as a family, which is why we moved to Calgary five years ago. We have had four nannies and au pairs (each 7-10 month placements) since we moved here and look forward to getting to know and forming a close bond with our next care giver!

Availability

You can work:
Live in
Live out
Part-time
Long term
Short term

Required Experience

You can look after:
2 children
Ages include:
Primary School 7-11 years
Preteen/teen 12+ years
You have advanced experience with:
Other

Services Needed

Your responsibilities will include:
Homework help

Required Qualifications

Background check
You can speak
English

Job Details

Transportation on the job:
Driver's license

Share This Profile

Want to be hired by Laura?

Apply Now
Find Nannies Jobs in Calgary, Alberta
More jobs in Calgary, Alberta

Want to be hired by Laura?

Apply Now