Norma T

I grew up in a large family on a farm in southern Ontario until I was 12 and was outside as much...

Nanny in Vancouver

I grew up in a large family on a farm in southern Ontario until I was 12 and was outside as much as possible. I changed my first diaper at the age of 12 years and babysat regularly for 10 years before taking my first nanny position in Bermuda. My 26 years experience working with children since then includes both live in and live out nanny positions, on call nanny work, nursery school teacher, foster care, church programs, etc in Bermuda, England, Ontario and the lower mainland. My experience ranges from as young as 2 weeks to early teens. Living and working in different cultures and roles has given me the opportunity to develop a very creative style of working with children that nurtures their curiosity, independence and self-esteem while maintaining a routine, consistency and healthy boundaries. Hearing children laugh is one of my favorite things and thus I enjoy being silly, playing with them and just plain old having fun. Reading is another favourite pass time and regular activity in my daily routine. When planning activities, preparing meals etc. for any age I am always considering this question: What am I giving them for life? In other words, how is what I am doing with them, exposing them to or feeding them going to affect them in the near and far future? I enjoy meeting new people and I am a very social and outgoing person which makes it easy for me to set up play dates and outings and assist children in learning to interact with others effectively wherever we may be. Communication is high on my priority list both in my work environment as well as with my friends and family. I believe in teaching children how to ask for the things they want and need, to follow instructions, to express their feelings and work things out with others. I feel that a nannys role is to partner with and support parents in raising their children and thus, communication with parents is essential. I enjoy doing anything creative such as sewing, crocheting, scrapbooking, making dolls etc. and have been learning some carpentry work as well. I also enjoy playing games, biking, reading, cooking and canning, gardening and spending time outside. These are skills and activities that I enjoy teaching and doing with children of all ages and have many resources at my disposal for this. I am passionate about and enjoy working with children and families and would appreciate the opportunity to meet with you and your family to explore the possibility of being your partner in raising your children to be happy and successful members of society. I have worked with children ranging in age from newborn to early teen years. I have worked as a live-in and line-out nanny, provided child care in my own home, worked as nursery school teacher, provided foster care for several children, taught Sunday school and managed and participated in other church programs for children. My duties have included meal and bottle preparation, laundry, managing children's clothes, toys and craft supplies, occasional grocery shopping, taking children to activities, play dates etc. either by bus or driving, arranging social and other activities, potty training, sleep training and light housekeeping duties pertaining to the children.

Nanny Details

Email Address
Phone Number
Years of Experience 10
Age Group Newborn
Primary School
Availability Live Out
Part Time
Long Term
Language English
Pay Minimum - $22.00
Services Pet Care
Training CPR
Work Eligibility Eligible To Work
Criminal Record Check
Number of Children 4
Twins Or Multiple Children Yes


Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Canadian Nanny Provider