Kristen P

Hi there,

Want To Connect With Kristen? Get Started Now

Nanny in Toronto

Hi there, My name is Kristen and I would love to tell you a little bit about me, my life, my family and my fun loving nature Firstly, I am an active, energetic, easy going 26 year old female from Australia with a strong sense of adventure! I have recently relocated to Toronto with my partner to experience life in Canada, meet new people and to have some fun! Our families (and friends) were very sad to hear the news that we will be away from home a few years, but all are very supportive of us, and excited that we have the opportunity to experience new and exciting things. My family back home consists of Mum and Dad- who both work pretty hard, but make the most of their spare time also- Mum is an Accountant and Dad an Insurance Manager. I have an older brother Nick who married 2 years ago- they have a gorgeous dog & cat (and hopefully some nieces & nephews for me soon!). My other sibling is my sister Karlee- she is just 12 months older than me, and we are VERY close. She is engaged to be married in March next year! Both my siblings are Primary (Elementary) school teachers. We are a very tight knit family and I miss them a lot when Im away- thankfully technology is so amazing these days! I, myself am a qualified Occupational Therapist (4 year university degree) and have a range of experience working both in hospitals and in the community with adults and children with various injuries and disabilities. I have had some wonderful opportunities over the years to be involved in holiday camps, sports, & community events for children with disabilities So much joy and laughter!! I have always had a love of children, which is evident in the coaching & babysitting that I began doing as a young teenager and has continued into nannying over the last 10 years! I have tried my hand at many sports, as well as being a coach of both gymnastics and basketball. Babysitting and coaching were the perfect jobs to have as a teenager- both were things I loved doing- but I also got a bit of pocket money too! From a young age I was a real saver- I always had a goal and went about reaching that. The main theme for my saving has always been travel- I have had so many amazing travel experiences, including: USA, South America, SE Asia, UK and Europe. Now I am here in Canada and excited to see what this country has to offer- I have heard great things! So as you can see from above I have many passions in life: family and friends; health, nutrition, cooking, baking and food; sport and physical activity; children and education; socializing and traveling. I look forward to finding a fun-loving, trustworthy and reliable family here in Toronto, who I can assist with the children/household- but also a family that I can share experiences with & have a lot of fun together! I cant wait to meet you soon, Kristen. CV pasted below: Qualifications/ Education Tertiary: --... Bachelor of Health Science (Occupational Therapy), Charles Sturt University, Albury, Australia. Completed 2008. Level 1 First Aid Annual Qualification- Australian Red Cross --...) Hospital level CPR Qualification and Manual Handling --...) Student Supervision Competency (2010) Working with Childrens Check Police Check Level 1 Sports Coaching- Gymnastics, Active After School Sports Australian Drivers Licence (willing to convert to CAD licence as required) Academic Achievement Recipient of National Rural Allied Health Undergraduate Scholarship 07 and 08. Credit Grade Point Average. Charles Sturt University Recipient of OT Australia Accredited OT Prize, 2008 Personal Profile I am an enthusiastic, positive, energetic and confident young female. My passions in life are family and friends; health, nutrition, cooking, baking and food; sport and physical activity particularly running and netball; babies, children and education; socializing and traveling. I have always had a love of children, which is evident in the coaching and babysitting that I began doing as a young teenager and has continued and progressed into nannying over the last 10 years. Whilst building my career as an Occupational Therapist I have continued to do part time nannying and have spent much of my university years and career as an Occupational Therapist working with young children with disabilities. I have also spent a lot of my spare time volunteering as a childrens coach and trainer of particular sports, including gymnastics and netball, resultant of an enthusiasm for both. I am mature, responsible, dedicated, hard working and reliable. I highly value family, honesty, respect and have a strong sense of morals. I am highly organized and able to multi-task. I am creative, fun and happy. Communication and personal skills are one of my strengths. All of these qualities, I believe, are pertinent to being an excellent nanny. Professional Experience Part time and Ad Hoc Nanny- Nina Gaynor Ariah Park, Australia January 2008 - January 2012 Part time nannying and babysitting 3 children aged 1 - 6 (2 boys, 1 girl). Roles: Drop off and pick up at day care, pre-school, school, extra curricular activities. Assisting with housework and cooking, changing nappies, bathing, dressing, feeding, putting to sleep. Creating fun and educational activities for the children including imaginative games, painting, drawing, reading, baking, and taking to local parks and pool. Reason for leaving: Overseas travel. Ad Hoc Nanny- Marissa Baker Albury, Australia March 2003 December 2008 Regular babysitting at evenings and weekends- 3 children aged between 10 and 13. One child with special needs. Roles: General care and supervision of the children including gentle discipline as required, assistance with homework, creating educational and fun entertainment, taking to afterschool and weekend activities, taking to and from school at times. General housework, including meal preparation and washing. Reason for leaving: Moved to Melbourne. Disability Support Worker/ Shift Leader Woodstock Respite House, Albury, Australia Woodstock Disability Support Inc. September 2007 January 2009 Responsibilities include; Caring of up to 6 children (aged 3-18) with varying disabilities within a group home setting. Assisting the children in daily living tasks, leisure activities and community integration. Communicating with (and providing ongoing support to) clients, carers, family and other disability service providers, displaying empathy and understanding. Responding effectively in an emergency/crisis situation. Respecting the clients independence, dignity and confidentiality. Encouraging client choice and participation in personal decisions. Liaising and co-operating with team members in meeting objectives for the clients. Attending and participating in regular team meetings and training sessions Manual handling. Maintaining equipment - wheelchairs, hoists, electric beds, etc. Administering & safely storing medication. Maintaining records for individuals and the service in a manner which will ensure that communication is efficient and confidential. Other Employment Grade 1 Occupational Therapist Alfred Hospital, Melbourne, Australia January 2009- January 2011 Rotations: Cardiology, Cardiothoracic and Vascular Units General Medical Unit Elective Surgery/Orthopaedics/Hospital in the Home Neurosurgery and Stroke Units Achievements and responsibilities: Student supervisor Senior grade 1, and mentor to juniors and students Independent management of patients, load, particular wards, groups Social committee member organization of staff lunches, parties, hospital fundraising days, promotional activities Reason for leaving: Travel to the UK Volunteer Work --... Blood/plasma donating (60 donations). Computer Literacy MS Excel MS Word MS Powerpoint Internet Explorer Board Maker Dreamweaver (web publishing) Cerner Referees Nina Gaynor Mother/ Early Childhood Teacher and Educator Ariah Park, NSW, Australia Ph--... Email: Marissa Baker Mother/ Teachers Aide Albury, NSW, Australia Ph--... Email: Amelia Tyers Grade 2 Occupational Therapist Trauma & Neurosurgery Units Alfred Hospital Ph--..., Pager #4365 Mobile: --...

Nanny Details

Email Address
Phone Number
Years of Experience 8
Age Group
Pay Minimum - $15.00
Maximum - $18.00
Special Needs
Work Eligibility
Number of Children 3
Twins Or Multiple Children Yes


Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Profile