Sara R

Hi! My name is Sara and I am currently a graduate student at the University of Toronto working...

Nanny in Toronto

Hi! My name is Sara and I am currently a graduate student at the University of Toronto working toward my Master\'s of Social Work. I am seeking a summer childcare position to help me fund my studies. I hope to focus my social work career on child and youth mental health, so I would be grateful for a childcare job in order to keep working with kids and get even more experience with younger populations. Beyond just playing, and monitoring safety, childcare is about teaching life skills as well, in accordance with the parent\'s values. Teaching children about things like sharing, socializing, and small responsibilities such as helping cleaning up toys, or doing homework can be important. I am extremely patient, compassionate, and caring- as my future social work career demands- but can also be firm and will use discipline when it is necessary. I love being silly and having fun with kids, since they have some of the most imaginative and creative minds which is such a joy to be around. I love fostering this creative, left part of the brain and often plan arts and crafts activities with kids. Depending on what the children\'s interests are, I am open to a variety of activities, outings, games etc. I am bilingual, fun, understanding, and responsible with a lot of experience working with children. Let me know if you\'re looking for a summer nanny, I\'d love to take care of your children and have a great summer with them! I grew up in a small town in south-western Ontario and lived there until moving to Hamilton for four years to do my undergrad in political science and french. Throughout these four years, I spent the summers working at a sports camp at the university, first as a counselor, then as a sport coordinator. All three summers I worked outside in the sun playing and teaching kids important athletic skills as well as social skills. I had to supervise, lead, and play with up to 35-40 children at a time (with a few other counselors). First and foremost is ensuring all of the children's safety. I have experience with different first aid situations and am very responsible when it comes to the safety and well-being of kids. I am used to being very active with children and love getting them outside and playing games, sports, scavenger hunts etc. After finishing my Honours Bachelor of Arts degree on the Dean's Honour List, I moved to France for a year to work as an au pair. I was a live-in nanny for a single mom and her two daughters who were 6 and 3 years old. It was a incredible opportunity and gave me even more childcare experience. Activities I would do with the girls included: crafts (a lot of painting, they loved painting flowers!), going to the park, the aquarium, the museum, I planned scavenger hunts for them, we would choreograph dance numbers (they loved that Shakira song from the World Cup commercials), play board games, and play "house", "school", or other imagination games. I really got to become a part of the family and we remain close to this day- in fact the mom and girls are coming over to visit me for a bit this summer! Having studied French in university and lived in France for a year, I am a bilingual caregiver. I have experience with light housekeeping for the family that I was a nanny for in France, and often did laundry, ironed clothes, did errands for the mom such as some groceries, dry cleaning etc. I would do the dishes and tidy the kitchen throughout the day as I used it, and sweep the floor daily. I took out the trash or helped out around the house as needed in order to help the mom out. I took the kids to their after school activities, and any appointments they had. I also would prepare light lunches for the girls throughout the year and simple breakfasts. I am comfortable in the kitchen for the most part, and have experience supervising meals which can sometimes be challenging with younger children who may need encouragement and help eating. I love kids and always have, as my experience shows. Besides working at camp for three years and being a live-in nanny, when living in Hamilton I volunteered for Kidsfest Running and Reading to help run an after-school program for kids ages 7-11 from low-income families. Over the school year, we would plan active games for the kids to get them more interested in physical activities and exercise, as well as practice reading with them to work on literacy skills. For disciplining, I usually discuss with the parents beforehand their style of discipline and follow that when discipline is necessary. When disciplining I do always try and discuss with the child why they are being disciplined so that they understand the reasoning for discipline and it's association with a certain behaviour. I also try and listen to how they view the situation before explaining. Since I was a live-in nanny, I am used to preparing and supervising meals. As well, I have been previously trained in the Red Cross CPR/First Aid and have experience responding to emergency and non-emergency first aid situations.

Nanny Details

Email Address
Phone Number 416-573-...
Years of Experience 3
Age Group Primary School
Availability Live Out
Summer Only
Short Term
Language English
Pay Minimum - $14.00
Maximum - $17.00
Special Needs Epilepsy
Mental Health
Severe Allergies
Physical Disability
Intellectual Disability
Services Pet Care
Swimming Supervision
Homework Supervision
Training First Aid
Transportation Employee Has Licence
Work Eligibility Eligible To Work
Household Light Housekeeping
Meal Preparation
Own Transportation
Number of Children 4


Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Canadian Nanny Provider