This listing has been removed.

Search Vancouver, BC

Hello, my name is Kristen, and I am currently living close to the UBC campus working on my... — Archived

Nanny in Vancouver

Hello, my name is Kristen, and I am currently living close to the UBC campus working on my Doctorate in music performance. A bit about my background: I grew up in Ottawa, close to my two younger brothers and my large extended family. I like to visit my family cottage when I am back home. I attended Wilfrid Laurier University in Waterloo, Ontario for my undergrad in music, and then I spent two years in Boston earning my Masters. Part of my reason for choosing UBC was the appeal of the beautiful West coast. I am a big nature lover and I have enjoyed exploring Vancouver. I play the oboe at a professional level, and I currently play as a freelancer with several local orchestras. I also play piano at a grade 8 RCM level. As a private music teacher, I have worked with kids ages 5-19 in oboe, piano, and music theory. I feel comfortable speaking in French. I was a French immersion student from grades 4-12 and I have maintained my fluency. While in Boston, I worked as a French scribe with a physically-disabled PhD student as she wrote her thesis in French literature. My childcare experience has mainly been within my own extended family during summers home from university. I have worked extensively with my younger cousin who is high-functioning Asbergers, planning full-day activities surrounding his interests, preparing meals, and helping with his homework. I have also looked after another younger cousin with Downs syndrome for several unsupervised hours at a time. Growing up with two younger brothers, I was often given age-appropriate responsibilities. I am an experienced private music teacher to ages 6-17, which I think is a skill that transfers directly to childcare. In music lessons, it\'s important to be aware of the interests and limits of each individual child, improvising and guiding them into a positive learning situation.

Nanny Details

Phone Number 236-999-...
Years of Experience 5
Age Group Primary School
Availability Live Out
Part Time
Occassional
Short Term
Duration Summer Only
Language English
French
Pay Negotiable
Hourly
Special Needs Physical Disability
Services Pet Care
Training CPR
Babysitter
Transportation Employee Has Licence
Work Eligibility Eligible To Work
Number of Children 3
Twins Or Multiple Children Yes

Notes

Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share Your Listing

A great way to find a canadian nanny provider is often through your friends.