Hew

Nanny

Want To Connect With Hew? Get Started Now


Nanny in Vancouver

Hello, My name is Hew Young and I am 26 years old. I am a fun, loving, caring, responsible, patient, honest and attentive person. I am a little shy at first but warm up quickly to people. I am a quick learner and self-motivated. I have always tried to be understanding but I also stand my ground when necessary. I have lived in Toronto the majority of my life, with the exception of living in St. Catharines when I was in University. I love being active, being outside, and enjoying nature. As such, some of my hobbies include: hiking with my dog and boyfriend, caring for my hedgehog, going for leisure bike rides, going camping, canoeing or kayaking, and jogging. Other hobbies include: reading, arts and crafts, knitting, baking and cooking. I also enjoying learning new things, even if I am no good at it! I am passionate about working with children; this passion grew from when I was little and spent a lot of time raising my younger brothers. As I got older, I spent time in many environments where I was taking care of children (especially my neice who was 1 yrs old and her parents were working full time), which lead me to pursue my university education with children. I have many experiences and qualifications for working with children; I have worked with and/or cared for children from newborn to Gr. 6. The following are summaries of these experiences and qualifications: - Early Childhood Assistance diploma: I had placements in toddler and preschool daycare rooms. Here I took part in caring for children by playing, supervising, feeding, cleaning, changing diapers etc.. I participated and led circle time, outdoor/indoor activities and other routines. - Bachelors of Art in Child and Youth Studies, and a Bachelors of Education in Primary/Junior grades: I completed two placements in Kindergarten classrooms for Teacher's College. I planned lessons and taught, I lead carpet time, I managed centres, I monitored children during play, I helped with snack, lunch and bathroom routines. I also completed a placement in a grade 4 classroom. As well, I completed a placement in a special needs classroom. - Volunteer work in many classrooms and other after-school programs: I participated in a after-school reading program with children as young as 6 to help improve their reading comprehension. I volunteered in a big brother big sister program with a grade 4 student. I also volunteered in many classrooms (JK/SK classrooms and gr.2/3 classroom). In highschool, I had two co-op placements in which I was in a JK/SK classroom and a 1/2 split. - Babysitting: twins who were 10 and helped with their homework, and took them to classes. In the summer I tutored with them, took them to classes, took them out on activities, prepared meals and occasionally cleaned the house. I also babysat two children who were the daughters of my boss when I was working at a cafe. Also, odd babysitting gigs for family, family friends and referrals. - Nanny: For a year and a half I worked as a Nanny to two amazing two year old b/g twins. I took the kids out to the park, on mini trips around the city, to the museum and more. I prepared and fed breakfast, lunch and sometimes dinner. I put them down for naps and sometimes bedtime. I participated in the little boy's speech therapy. I also changed their diapers, did the laundry, load and unloaded the dishes, cleaned their bedroom, playroom, living room, and kitchen. But most of all, I played, I laughed, I cried, I smiled, I laid down the law and I had a blast. -Nanny: For the past 8 months, I worked as a Nanny to boy twin 3/4 year olds. Boys typically took some time in the mornings to acclimate and snuggle with Mom or Dad. So, I started the day typically by putting away toys, cleaning up the kitchen counter, sink and unloading the dishwasher, sweeping the floors up the living room/kitchen/dining space. I often served a simple breakfast and then Dad went to work and Mom went to do chores etc. I would play games, read, go to the park, have some lunch until I made lunch. We would eat and then I would take a 30 min walk with the boys to their preschool. If boys were busy with play, I would also do some laundry. In the beginning, I took the boys to speech therapy as well as practicing the "homework" from the speech pathologist. I learned a lot working with these two children as they often struggled with separation anxiety, over stimulation and huge outbursts. I learned different methods to help them with their struggles as well as mine to not let myself get overloaded. After being together for months though, we were able to reach a happy medium. Outside of the struggles the boys and I had many silly and loving moments together. I will be moving back to Toronto from Vancouver this coming December and so will be looking for a new family to support and become part of. Hope to talk to you soon, Hew.

Nanny Details

Email Address ...@gmail.com Confirmed
Phone Number 416-995-... Confirmed
Postal Code V6P...
Years of Experience 2
Provider Type Individuals
Age Group
Availability
Language
Pay Hourly
Services
Training
CPR
Transportation
Work Eligibility
Household
Number of Children 3
Twins Or Multiple Children Yes

Notes

Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Canadian Nanny Provider