Marissa M


Nanny in Toronto

Hello!! My name is Marissa MacKinnon and I am a 24-year old, experienced, educated female. I have had several years of childcare experience ranging from work with private families to working at childrens camps and through nanny agencies to working within special needs group homes! I have also worked with a variety of children of varying ages, starting with newborn babies, and ending with those in their teenage years. Due to my many years of childcare experience, I have had the privilege of working with children from various backgrounds, ages, ethnicities, abilities and learning levels, and have developed a great appreciation for the wide range of unique personalities that accompany all of the children that I meet! In addition to having had some great experiences working with children from Canada and the United States, I also took a few months off of school in order to travel overseas and work with the Compassion Project in Kenya, Africa. Here, I worked with hundreds of children currently being sponsored or looking for sponsors from other parts of the world. While working in the village, in Duruma, Kenya over the summer, I actually had to opportunity to visit and play with my own sponsor child! What an experience!! Should I attain an opportunity working for your family, I will make my best effort to gear the activities planned toward the interests and needs of your child. This is to say I am just as happy to spend all day doing arts and crafts with your little girl, as I am building forts in the snow with your growing boy. Nonetheless, sometimes the focus needs to be geared toward helping your little one with their English homework or creating cue cards to help them remember words for their upcoming French test. Whatever your need, I am willing to do my best to accommodate both you and your child! While childcare is my priority at all times, I am absolutely willing to manage my time (especially during toddler naps for example) to help ensure that mom and dad come home to a clean house, with folded laundry and happy pets! Feel free to negotiate any additional responsibilities that you may need my help with. I look forward to hearing from you soon!! Marissa MacKinnon I have had several years of experience with children of all ages! Since the age of 12, I worked for various families either babysitting or nanny on a full-time or part-time basis. I also worked as a junior and senior counselor at a childrens camp, where I was responsible for up to 6 children at a given time, and responsible for their well-being, supervision, and activity planning both indoors and outdoors. At this camp, I also instructed children in arts and crafts, canoeing, horse-back riding, sports and Bible study. I have also worked for two different nanny agencies, where I fulfilled full-time and part-time positions for different families, and worked on an on-call basis for various families across the GTA. I still work on-call for families currently. It is also important to note that when I was living in New Brunswick, I worked for Moncton Community Residences incorporated. Here, I worked at various group homes for special needs clients of varying ages. In this position, I gained meaningful experience with clients with Autism, Schizophrenia, Borderline Personality Disorder, Epilepsy, Global Developmental Delayed, Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder, etc. I assisted clients in learning life skills, gaining some independence, providing help with personal hygiene (e.g. showered and dressed clients, assisted using the toilet and changed attends, etc.), prepared meals, escorted clients to appointments and on outings, etc. Within the aforementioned positions, I performed all childcare related duties, including bathing, dressing and grooming of children, planning and supervising of indoor and outdoor activities (e.g. crafts, music, dance, etc., or going outside to the park/playground, library, caf, etc.), tutored/assisted with homework, disciplinary actions (e.g. time out, or loss of privileges, etc.), bed time routines, etc. I also performed additional responsibilities such as meal preparation, light housekeeping, errand-running (e.g. dry-cleaning, groceries), extensive driving of family vehicles (up to 4 hours), watering of plants, pet care (e.g. walk family dog, feed the pets, etc.), laundry.

Nanny Details

Email Address
Phone Number 416-832-...
Years of Experience 10
Age Group Newborn
Primary School
Availability Live Out
Part Time
Long Term
Language English
Pay Minimum - $17.00
Maximum - $25.00
Special Needs Other
Mental Health
Severe Allergies
Physical Disability
Intellectual Disability
Services Pet Care
Swimming Supervision
Homework Supervision
Training First Aid
Work Eligibility Eligible To Work
Criminal Record Check
Household Light Housekeeping
Meal Preparation
Own Transportation
Number of Children 4
Twins Or Multiple Children Yes


Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Canadian Nanny Provider