Rachel C

Hello!

Nanny in Kitchener

Hello! My name is Rachel Clements, I am 23 years old, and I have graduated from Wilfrid Laurier University with an undergraduate degree in psychology. Since graduating, I have spent the last two years living and working in an intentional community for adults with developmental disabilities, called LArche Toronto. The house I live in consists of five core members (adults with disabilities) and four assistants. My role at LArche is the role of an assistant, which is similar to a personal support worker. I am responsible for helping the core members with daily routines including bathing, cooking, accompaniment to medical appointments and various outings, shopping, and household cleaning. I am also responsible for providing emotional support to the core members. This past August I transitioned into the role of House Leader, extending my responsibility to include care of the core members, as well as managing a team of assistants, and organizing the rhythm of life in the house. The role of House Leader includes managerial tasks such as scheduling, financing, and facilitating meetings and job reviews. I chose to spend my summer holidays working at Ontario Pioneer Camp in Port Sydney, ON. I was a small group leader at a program for teenage leadership development. My role included mentoring teens as they completed a four-day canoe trip, followed by a two-week training program. I like to keep active in my spare time. I have many hobbies including lane swimming, yoga, running, and biking. I am an avid reader and I enjoy painting and writing. I love anything outdoors- camping, hiking, canoeing, and sailing. I have found my work with developmentally disabled adults difficult and yet extremely rewarding. I have found relationships with the core members of my house to be mutually transforming; I have learned a great deal about myself as well as my housemates. I am passionate about helping empower others. I enjoy helping others discover and develop their own leadership abilities. I am looking to nanny for a family in Kitchener come January (2014) Although my experience as a nanny is limited, I believe my two years with LArche has given me valuable skills that will help me as a nanny. I am able to complete household duties, drive, cook, and I would not shy away from children that may have behaviour challenges. I am also flexible in my working hours. I have worked four summers at Ontario Pioneer Camp, in Port Sydney, ON. I have worked with children ages 3-17 during my time at Pioneer.

Nanny Details

Email Address ...@gmail.com
Phone Number
Years of Experience 1
Age Group Primary School
Availability Live Out
Full Time
Part Time
Long Term
Language English
Pay Negotiable
Hourly
Special Needs Diabetes
Mental Health
Physical Disability
Intellectual Disability
Services Pet Care
Training CPR
Babysitter
Work Eligibility Eligible To Work
Criminal Record Check
Number of Children 4

Notes

Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Canadian Nanny Provider