Jenny A

H1Seeking experienced, part-time, live-out Nanny/H1

Family in Burnaby

Seeking experienced, part-time, live-out Nanny We are looking for an experienced (at least 6 months with a child in the 6-18 months age), live-out, part-time nanny to tenderly care for, play with, hug and stimulate our one year old daughter. After us, (her parents), you would be the person she would be spending the most time with, and as such, a trusting and respectful relationship needs to be established that supports her intellectual, emotional and physical growth and stimulation. We do take time to read to her and will take her out swimming every so often. However, our focus is on unstructured free play. We have a fairly well established routine and way of doing things. We would teach you what we'd like you to do and how we'd like you to do it. Skills and personal characteristics We are not necessarily looking for someone with a bunch of letters behind their name, but you must: -be caring and respectful -have common sense, especially with regards to safety -enjoy spending time with the baby -have a strong work ethic -be punctual and honest -be able to take instructions and follow them -be able to speak, read and write English fluently. Abilities in Spanish or French are an asset but are not required. -be willing to submit to a criminal background check -have completed the Emergency Child Care First Aid & CPR Level B or C certificates. Completion of the Standard Child Care First Aid certificate is an asset but is not required. -be willing to work in a home with video surveillance. This is recommended by the RCMP for in home care work. -be smoke free -be drug free Baby oriented tasks would include: -reading to baby and looking at books (preventing baby from eating books) -listening to music with baby and singing along, finger play games, etc (we have books you can learn from, this is fun and easy) -take baby for short walks to the park to go on swings -allow baby to play freely with her toys, other stuff in the house, you, the cats etc without "instructing" her to do anything and while maintaining a safe environment -patiently feed baby -diaper changes, dressing, etc -put baby to sleep for naps (this may be the hardest task) Other tasks: Some light housekeeping will be required either when baby is sleeping or when one of us parents is home from work. Care for baby comes first before any of these tasks: -loading/unloading dishwasher -washing dishes -preparing meals for baby -starting supper for the family -loading/unloading washer and dryer -folding laundry -vacuuming -sweep and/or Swifter floors -ironing Optional A driver's license is not required but would be a bonus in the rare occasion that we may ask you to take our daughter somewhere. Pets We have two grey spayed female cats (7 years old) that get along fine with our daughter and are indoor only cats. They do shed a little bit so you would need to like being around cats and have no allergies. Media We do not have a TV and we try to limit any screen time that our daughter is exposed to. The only time she spends seeing the computer is when talking on Skype to her grandparents. This means that no smart phone or laptop is to be used around her. Your attention should be on her -- not your media. Location We live up on Burnaby Mountain in the UniverCity development nearby to the SFU campus. Please do not apply if you do not have a means of getting up here (either your own car or transit). Schedule We are looking for 12-18 hours a week. This will be dependent on our requirements (to be confirmed within the next 1-2 weeks and your availability). We are looking for someone to be available on Tuesday and Thursday 12-6 PM. The remaining hours are flexible. They could possibly be earlier or later on Tuesday and Thursday or on one of the other weekdays. We are looking for an official start date of September 3, 2013 and a commitment until at least December 13, 2013. Pending a good working relationship there is a possibility that this position could become 25-30 hours per week, starting in January 2014. We would like for you to come spend some time with us throughout August (maybe starting at 3-6 hours per week) in mid-August and ramping up through August until by the end of August you are working the last week of August with us at the 12 hours per week. We (the parents) would be there at the house with you and our daughter and you would be paid. Those hours would be a kind of training/trial period. It will provide time for you to get to know us, get to know our daughter and to get to know your responsibilities and for us to get to know you and assess the quality of your work. Being available for an occasional Saturday or Sunday day shift or weeknight evening shift would be an asset. In your application please provide: -a summary of applicable experience -your reason for applying to this job -your educational achievements -your personal goals and hobbies -your legal status to work in Canada -the names, phone numbers and context for at least two professional references -your age -your desired hourly wage -a copy of your Emergency Child Care First Aid & CPR Level B or C certificates -copies of any other relevant educational certificates, diplomas or tickets -a schedule with your hours of availability

Family Details

Email Address ...@hotmail.com Confirmed
Phone Number 604-636-... Confirmed
Age Group Infants
Availability Live Out
Part Time
Occassional
Long Term
Language English
Hours Per Week 5
Pay Negotiable
Minimum - $11.00
Maximum - $15.00
Hourly
Services Pet Care
Training First Aid
CPR
Transportation Job Close To Transit
Work Eligibility Criminal Record Check
Household Light Housekeeping
Laundry
Number of Children 1

Notes

Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Canadian Nanny Job