Silken S

Gentle, energetic, intuitive nanny: available now

Want To Connect With Silken? Get Started Now

Nanny in Vancouver

Hello there! My name is Silken or as most youngsters like to call me, Suki. I am in my early 20's, and at this point in life I have already come to the conclusion that I want to devote my entire life to serving others, and most importantly children. Before moving to Vancouver (2016) I spent the last 6 months of my life as an English second language teacher in China. I worked at two different schools; one was a kindergarden with ages that went from three to sometimes seven. The other was a preschool where I worked with sometimes as young as one year olds up to five year olds. Due to this experience I learned at an extremely fast pace how to properly work with large groups of children and much smaller groups, for example some classes were 25-30 children and other classes were as small as 2 children and sometimes even a one on one interaction. Working with children, especially ones who didn't even speak my language fluently, every day for several hours a day taught me a great deal of patience, compassion, and gratitude for what it means to be in the presence of a being so pure and innocent. Among the many things I have learned from being across the world as a teacher, I recognized that through absolutely any and all difficult times, children are my safe haven. They are surely the light of this world. As for this teaching experience in China I have also had many more years as a full time nanny, and babysitter for a diversity of families. (one of my most recent families here in Vancouver was a family of 5: two girls and 1 boy (twins 5, oldest 7). I have taken the responsibility as a cook, a housekeeper, someone who runs errands, takes kids to and from schools and sporting events, sometimes even driving and traveling with kids across the country, and most importantly a friend and a nurturing person who is there to protect and take care of those I am responsible over. From an early age I have adopted the role as a care taker with merely having three brothers in my home. Watching over others in a gentle yet extremely aware and responsible way has almost been bestowed upon me through all the experiences I have had in my life. Because I have not only worked with children I am familiar with through family ties, I am extremely qualified to assist almost any child with bountiful backgrounds of living situations. This comes with the intuitive nature of who I am. Nevertheless, I think it is extremely important to not only be qualified to work with children but to also have similar values, hobbies, and interests as those of the parents, family and children themselves. For that reason I will begin to explain more of my personal life. I am a person who loves the outdoors, working with plants, gardening, going on walks, hikes, exploring Mother Nature and using outdoor activities at learning and teaching experiences. I thoroughly enjoy art, creativity, crafts, hands on projects, especially when it comes to bringing out the inner artist in s child. I like cooking heathy, nutritious meals, (I have been a vegan for 4 years) but even if my family preferred a healthy non vegan or non vegetarian meal I can work with that just as well. I for some odd reason like cleaning a lot and am an extremely neat and organized individual. I absolutely love reading and most importantly reading with and to children. Being a teacher will always be second nature to me! There are many other thing that I enjoy as a person, and almost all that I do in my personal life would guarenteed take interest in the eyes of a child as well. I strive every single day of my life to have a child-like heart because I know how important it is to see the world through the lenses of a kids' perspective on life. Children are the future, the are the light and life of this world and I would do absolutely anything to help further progress a child to better their life. If you are interested in potentially having me in your home as someone who will protect and keep your child safe and genuinely happy, you can contact me via email or by phone. You can also write me on this website. I really hope to hear back from any family who resignates with my words and my life values. Thank you SO MUCH for taking the time to read this bio. Much love, Silken Stewart (I live around Dunbar and 23rd, but i also have a car and am open for discussion if your location is a bit farther away)

Nanny Details

Email Address Confirmed
Phone Number 604-401-... Confirmed
Postal Code V6S...
Years of Experience 5
Provider Type Individuals
Age Group
Hours Per Week 40
Pay Minimum - $15.00
Work Eligibility
Twins Or Multiple Children Yes


Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Profile