Develyn Santos

Fun and Loving nanny looking full time, live in or live out

Nanny in Calgary

I have 8 years of experience in caring different age of kids, I worked as a domestic helper in hongkong for almost 6 years, my first employer was 2007-2011 and went home to study to qualify requirements for live-in caregiver and went back to hongkong for another family February 2012-August 2014 and continue my journey here in Canada and ends this coming August..I am taking care of 2 very sweet, loving and well-disciplined boys. I love taking care of them, we love each other but unfortunately my employers wont be able to continue my contract for some reasons but if they do they'll keep me and prefer to stay with them...I am nanny sharing too every friday for 10 months old baby and my employer sister is dropping her daughter(1 year)Mon-Thurs..My typical schedules are giving their meals, snacks,playing like music and dancing, doing arts and crafts, reading books, planning trips like going to the zoo, telus spark ,library and parks,.... Hope to hear from you soon And feel free to ask questions that you may have Thanks Develyn

Nanny Details

Email Address Confirmed
Phone Number 587-432-... Confirmed
Postal Code T2X...
Years of Experience 80
Provider Type Individuals
Age Group Newborn
Early School
Primary School
Availability Live In
Live Out
Full Time
Long Term
Language English
Days Per Week 5
Hours Per Week 50
Pay Negotiable
Minimum - $13.00
Maximum - $15.00
Services Homework Supervision
Training First Aid
Transportation Employee Has Vehicle
Employee Has Licence
Employer Provides Vehicle
Work Eligibility Eligible To Work
Household Light Housekeeping
Meal Preparation
Own Transportation
Number of Children 2
Twins Or Multiple Children Yes


Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Recommendations for Develyn Santos

Canadiannanny listing 100x100
Cathy May

Develyn has been employed with our family since August 2014. We had interviewed her via Skype with the guidance of a placement agency and secured her as a Temporary Foreign Worker through the Caregiver Program (2 year LMO). She was very shy in the beginning and is still quite shy, but overtime has become more comfortable asking questions when she needs help or clarification. Since arrival, she has continuously shown her dedication in delivering high quality care for our 2 young boys and our house. When she first arrived, our boys were 1 year and 3 years. She quickly developed a caring relationship with both the boys and developed a connection that we had hoped for. Although it took adjustment for me as the mother to have another person caring closely for my children, I have learned to appreciate the genuine affection she has for the boys. Upon her arrival, I wrote out a few documents – guidelines on how our house currently ran, clear expectations/descriptions of the tasks we wished her to complete daily and in case of emergency contact information. She was made aware of our security system in the house that has cameras set up. Daily tasks included: • Preparing meals for the kids with specific direction on preparing foods with whole grains, fruit, vegetables and protein throughout the day. Treats are allowed, but she would ensure we were ok with the treat and would let us know when they got them. • Cleaning up after meals and activities. • Putting our youngest for naps. • Crafts, coloring, reading, play doe play, puzzles. • Bike rides (with safe sidewalk/road crossing and helmet use), going to area playgrounds. • Prepping our dinner – she would prepare the main dish through recipes (crock pot recipes during the day, or place the main dish in the oven in time for us to eat by 6pm) and developed stronger cooking skills as time went on. • Once she became familiar with the City Transit, she began taking the boys to the Zoo, Play-A-Latte and the Library for day trips. She would pack lunches, snacks, SPF, bug spray, hats….etc. • Keeping the house tidy and clean throughout the day. • Deep Cleaning would be completed when someone was home to mind the kids. Tasks she did, but were not expected to: • She began cutting our vegetables and placing in Ziplocs for easy use. • If we did a Costco run on a Sunday, but didn’t have time to separate for the freezer, she would surprise us with having it all done on Monday. Never expected, but what a wonderful treat for us. • Taking out the garbage and recycling out to the road before garbage day. • Putting our kids to bed if ever needed. Taking the initiative: She took the initiative to begin writing out what the boy’s ate, activities, nap times and any medications administered (with times) as we consistently asked at the end of the day. When our youngest was showing signs of using the toilet, she began attempting to have him use it. She was key to the success and although stressful at times with accidents, she handled with the utmost grace. Correcting undesirable behaviors: We met with her when we needed a change in behavior with how we’d like her to approach certain situations. For example – when our youngest was being held all day long, we asked her to try to redirect him to activities so that she had balance between the 2 kids and she wasn’t trying to hold him while preparing meals, playing with the oldest or doing any tidying up. She responded quickly and respected our wishes to take this approach. Handling emergency situations: In September of 2014, only a month after arrival, Develyn was faced with dealing with an emergency situation with our youngest boy. He had been using the stools to help pull himself up. These heavy wooden stools were the perfect height for him to stand up inside. While negotiating with our oldest in the pantry, our youngest stood up while under the stool in the middle and fell forward, smooshing the tip of his middle finger. She instinctively took the right steps in getting him help, calling 911 and having an ambulance arrive to take over. She hadn’t at the time had any formal training on what to do, but she still made the best decisions along the way putting our child’s wellbeing first, all the while not knowing how we’d react. She has since taken Child 1St Aid training to strengthen her skills. Develyn will be an asset to any employer looking for a hardworking, kind, reliable, trust worthy individual. Due to personal circumstances, we are unable to renew a contract with Develyn, and want only the best for her. Any questions in regards to this recommendation, please feel free to contact me.

Share This Canadian Nanny Provider