Jane Christie

Educated and experienced Summer Nanny

Want To Connect With Jane? Get Started Now


Nanny in Toronto

Dear Families, I am currently a Licensed Early Childhood Educator working in British Columbia who would like to come to Toronto for the summer as a Nanny. My educational and professional background includes working as a Teacher, Early Childhood Educator, School Counsellor, Child Development Assistant, Hospital Play Therapist, Camp Counsellor and Program Leader in Out-of-School-Care programs. I have graduated with a Bachelor Degree in Education and Masters Degrees in Education (Special Needs), Learning and Development (Early Childhood), and Counselling. I am currently working on further study in the fields of Family Studies and Psychology from an online environment. This allows me the flexibility to study from anywhere and at any time of the day. I am a huge believer in the power of play as the language of children and use this as a teaching tool and therapeutic device. This allows me to establish strong social, emotional, cognitive, language and physical development of each child I have worked with. I am also skilled at helping children problem solve and engage in tasks to overcome their struggles or challenges. I have worked in a variety of child-friendly settings, including: counselling children, adolescents and families in school settings, offering therapeutic play for children and adolescents in hospital, helping students with special needs achieve individualised goals, supporting behavioural interventions, providing play-based care in early childhood, and helping children and adolescents overcome their fears and face new challenges in recreational programs. During these experiences, I have been lucky to have had the opportunity to work with families from all over the world allowing me to connect with families from a variety of cultural, linguistic and religious backgrounds. I have a strong background working with children and youth, solid understanding of developmental needs and creativity and flexibility when planning age appropriate programming activities. My studies and practical experiences have taught me the importance of supporting children in new environments, including developing stability, knowing what to expect, preparation for transitions, changes and upcoming procedures, recognising behaviour as a form of communication and adapting activities to meet each child or adolescents needs, interests and abilities. Working with children I have also been required to problem solve, think on my feet, and respond with initiative to meet the needs of the current situation. Personally, I live an active and creative lifestyle. I like to participate in several sports including softball and basketball, love hiking and enjoying my natural surroundings and am an avid snowboarder in the winter. I am also interested in art and creative projects and tend to engage in these as a means of relaxation, as well as continuing to pursue further study in child development, education, mental health and well-being. Previously I have had experience supporting children and youth with a variety of mental health concerns, including anxiety, depression, grief, loss, school refusal, behaviour concerns, academic or learning difficulties, conflict, parenting issues, divorce, anger management, illness, Autism or other special needs diagnosis, breakdown in relationships, trauma response, self-harm, self-esteem and confidence, foster care, and selective mutism. I have had training and experience with a variety of therapeutic play modalities including art, music, drama, storytelling, puppetry, sand tray and other expressive techniques. This allows me to recognise and support children to overcome any additional challenges they may be facing. I have over 20,000 hours experience working with children of all ages, including performing tasks such as making up and singing silly songs, acting like different characters, both self-directed and directed by the child, taking on different roles in play, telling stories, telling jokes, finding ways to get the child to smile. As a child life intern, I had the opportunity to create playful activities to help children make sense of their experiences. For example, I developed a germ vanishing activity with a pre-schooler who was struggling with medicine. A playful activity of squirting germs with syringes taught the child how taking medicine helped and increased compliance. Understanding the cause of the childs resistance and developing an inventive approach appropriate to that childs needs and interests helped that family facing a barrier to treatment. Working in an early childhood centres under a play-based, living curriculum philosophy for over eight years, provided me with many opportunities to build upon my initiative and problem solving skills. Providing sole care to a group of four infants and toddlers taught me to become skilled at multi-tasking, knowing what each child needs at any moment and ensuring these are met. My roles included observing the childrens immediate developmental needs and interests and developing these through meaningful play experiences. I needed to be organised, problem solve, think on my feet, and respond with initiative to meet the needs of the current situation. I thrive on challenges like these. A previous role with Supported Child Development included providing care for clients with additional needs, including behavioural or physical challenges, in their homes or community care settings. I was responsible for implementing a service plan to ensure the needs of each child were met, goal setting, reporting on progress to the families and my direct supervisor. This position also required me to be organised, use initiative and problem solve to work independently. My natural ability, caring nature, passionate personality, positive thinking, playfulness, responsibility and maturity allows me to quickly establish trust with new clients and team members, communicate effectively and create meaningful relationships with all those around me. I am a dedicated, hard-working individual with a flexible schedule and availability to commit to working days, afternoons, evenings or weekends. I am currently pursuing further online study which provides me the flexibility to commit to any schedule each week. I am an Australian citizen and Canadian permanent resident, have police clearances and first aid certification and can work in any position. I look forward to discussing my application with you further if you feel I would be a good fit for your family. Thank you for your consideration, Jane Christie

Nanny Details

Email Address ...@gmail.com Confirmed
Phone Number 250-801-... Confirmed
Years of Experience 15
Provider Type Individuals
Age Group
Availability
Duration
Language
Days Per Week 5
Hours Per Week 35
Pay Hourly
Special Needs
Services
Training
CPR
Transportation
Work Eligibility
Household
Number of Children 6
Twins Or Multiple Children Yes

Notes

Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Canadian Nanny Provider

Jane Christie’s Other Listings