Liz W

Dear Parents,

1

Nanny in North Vancouver

Dear Parents, I am a well-travelled, culturally sensitive educator and caregiver, with expertise of working with VIP families and the like, as a private teacher, tutor, and governess; in addition to this, I also have international classroom experience, as a Native English Teacher in South Korea, where I planned, prepared, and delivered fun, engaging lessons to classes of 30-35 students in elementary school. I have lived, worked, volunteered and travelled in 5 of the 7 continents, with my work and volunteer experience being centred around children. I have worked with children ranging from 2 to 13 years of age, teaching English, maths and science, predominantly following the Cambridge curriculum; I have coached a variety of sports to children from 5-16, in Canada, and across Africa. I have always maintained a fantastic relationship with both parents and children alike, with whom I have worked, and endeavour to do so in every position held. My role as a governess to a Russian VIP family involved travel with the family; planning formal, daily sit- down lessons with the children; planning activities/games/crafts; assisting with homework; occasionally preparing meals; taking part in creative activities such as role-play; encouraging practicing musical instruments; doing physical activity such as swimming and monitoring the childs safety; and playing outdoors. In addition to this, with the older child (Boy, 11) I spent the summer months preparing him for English exams in London so that he could apply to prestigious schools. Particularly with my younger students, there was a great deal of emphasis placed on phonics skills, as well as reading and writing. With older students, comprehension, verbal and non-verbal reasoning, were major areas of focus, as these were the skills that required greatest attention (individual needs). As a science major, I have very sound background in problem solving; through my various teaching and coaching experiences, I have learned how to adapt lessons and present information in multiple forms in order for the students to have a sound understanding of both the big picture, and smaller details. I am very comfortable with new languages, which often enables me to understand why students learning English as an alternate language struggle with certain material. I also use science experiments, and other hands-on activities in order to teach concepts to children, and have had a great deal of success. I believe that learning through play, experimentation, and alternative methods greatly complements traditional lessons and achieves the best possible understanding. I have a firm but fair approach to my role as a teacher as well as a governess, and truly enjoy the time I spend with the children I work with. I am patient, energetic, and compassionate, and believe that mutual respect between both teacher and student is imperative for success. I am available in Vancouver (preferably North Vancouver) from September on wards, during school hours. If you have children who are not yet school-aged, and would like nanny services during the day between 9am-2pm, where your children would be engaged in fun, stimulating activities, please contact me here. I have worked in both South Korea as a primary school teacher and private tutor, as well as in Moscow as an English tutor and Au Pair for some VIP clients. In South Korea I was responsible for planning lessons and delivering them to of 30-35 students at a time, as well as planning English camps and spearheading a daily English broadcast for the students; I also worked as a private tutor. In Moscow I taught children from 2 years old to 13, through formal sit down lessons and play. I travelled with clients to Europe and spent the summer with them as an Au pair. My responsibilities, aside from formal lesson preparation, was to monitor the children and ensure their safety, come up with fun, engaging activities, such as games, crafts, exercise, swimming, hide and seek, role play, etc. At times, I would prepare or warm meals for the children, and help them get ready for bed. I have just spent the last 5 months traveling across East and Southern Africa, coaching rugby to less fortunate children.

Nanny Details

Email Address ...@live.ca
Phone Number
Years of Experience 3
Age Group Primary School
Availability Live In
Live Out
Full Time
Part Time
Long Term
Short Term
Language English
French
Pay Negotiable
Hourly
Special Needs Severe Allergies
Services Pet Care
Swimming Supervision
Homework Supervision
Gardening
Training First Aid
CPR
Early Childhood Education
Work Eligibility Eligible To Work
Household Meal Preparation
Groceries
Own Transportation
Errands
Number of Children 5
Twins Or Multiple Children Yes

Notes

Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Canadian Nanny Provider