Heather Allison

Child and Youth Care Undergrad- Nurturing and energetic, and looking forward to meeting your family

Nanny in Okotoks

I am in search of a part time position, and am enthusiastic about the possibility of a fun and fulfilling chance to get to know you, and especially your children! I am one practicum shy of my CYC undergrad, which I will complete by Spring 2017. I have always loved working with children, starting as a babysitter at age twelve, volunteering in my moms kindergarten classroom for many years, and working as an assistant dance teacher throughout junior high and high school. This led me to pursue a degree in Child and Youth Care (CYC) at the University of Victoria, expanding my knowledge in many areas, including lifespan development (focusing on infancy to young adulthood), with attention to a biopsychosocial-spiritual understanding of development; advocacy for children, youth and families; techniques for responding to children's various physical, behavioural and socio-emotional needs, including using self-regulation; and the importance in promoting all types of strengths and diversity. I also faced new challenges in my own life, living far away from home and family for the first time, and navigating a new city and culture, which allowed me to learn and grow so much. Since I have completed all of the on-campus aspects of my program, I have moved back to my family home, and am incredibly excited to be back with all of the things so close to my heart: my parents, our family dog Lager, my older brothers, much of my extended family, my Calgary sports teams (although, I have to admit, my loyalty to the Pittsburgh Penguins always wins out when they're playing the Flames), my close friends, the mountains, and the wide open, big blue skies. I truly am an Alberta girl! Though I have over 10 years of experience working and volunteering in various aspects of childcare, my most recent experience has been through CYC practicums. Last year I was a student with Kids Cancer Care/Camp Kindle, which meant I was lucky enough to spend my summer supporting and seeing kids whose lives have been affected by pediatric cancer thrive at camp, forming lifelong bonds, LOVING the great outdoors, goofing around at campfires and on out-trips, and surpassing their expectations for themselves in such profound and exciting ways. I have previously, and hope to continue to, volunteer for this amazing organization, and completing a practicum with them was a dream come true. Most of my experience is with 4-10 year olds, however I feel that after my practicum, I have grown in my abilities to connect, build relationships, and appropriately engage age groups and personalities across the board. At Camp Kindle, I got to spend a full week as a counsellor for the 15-17 year olds which offered me so much new and valuable learning. I am passionate about work with all children, but work with pediatric cancer populations holds a special place in my heart, and is one of several reasons that I am considering furthering my education one day by applying for a Master's degree in Occupational Therapy. If we were to cross paths, I hope to provide the most meaningful care for you and your family. I recently renewed my First Aid and CPR Level C, have a new, up to date Criminal Record Check (June 2016), and I have a valid driver's licence and access to a vehicle. I am comfortable working with special needs, whether they are of mobility/health/dietary/behavioural and/or other significance, and hope to learn from you about the best ways to foster and provide a sense of trust and safety for both you and your children. I have listed some of my qualifications, as I know they are important in helping you know if I will be a good fit for your family. For now though, I think that is enough about me, what about you?? Please contact me with any questions or concerns you might have, if you are interested in seeing my rsum, or discussing childcare possibilities for your family! Thanks for reading! :) Email: ...@....ca

Nanny Details

Email Address ...@....ca Confirmed
Phone Number 403-465-... Confirmed
Pay Hourly
Services Pet Care
Homework Supervision
Household Light Housekeeping
Meal Preparation
Own Transportation


Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Canadian Nanny Provider