Kim K

Caregiver / Respite

Family in Edmonton

I am looking for a positive, energetic person to come into my home on Saturdays for 5-6 hours to play with, teach, encourage and provide care for my 4 1/2 year old foster to adopt son. He joined our family one year ago with severe developmental delays due to neglect. We have worked very hard over the past year to get him walking, talking and interacting like a 2 1/2 - 3 year old boy. He goes to pre-school and Sunday School and has been enrolled in a number of activities and can blend very well with his peers, but he still struggles with maturity and the ability to think. The caregiver should have a driver\'s license and their own car so they might take our son on an occasional outing. Our foster-to-adopt son came to us at 3 1/2 with severe developmental delays. He is now 4 1/2 and has come a long way in terms of speech and mobility, but we are still working with a special doctor to get his mind up to speed. He presents more like a 3 year old, with immature tendencies, but is a willing and gentle child. We recently took in his 5 month old sister and this is leaving me with little time spend getting him up to speed before he enters kindergarten. I do not want to waste this year and could use some help with some of his exercises, learning numbers, letters and sequencing and simply teaching him how to play. He never had the chance to play as a child and has trouble getting engaged with toys. He is learning from his older brothers, but could really use and adults encouragement and instruction.

Family Details

Email Address ...@telus.net Confirmed
Phone Number 780-486-... Confirmed
Age Group Infants
Early School
Primary School
Availability Live Out
Occassional
Long Term
Language English
Hours Per Week 5
Pay Negotiable
Hourly
Special Needs Other
Services Swimming Supervision
Training First Aid
Transportation Employee Has Vehicle
Employee Has Licence
Work Eligibility Criminal Record Check
Number of Children 4

Notes

Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Canadian Nanny Job