1. Nannies
  2. Canada
  3. Ontario
  4. Toronto

Shelagh Q

No reviews yet
Professional Nanny with over 20 years experience
Toronto, Ontario
Active 5 hours ago

Reasons to Hire Me

  • I come with a built-in playmate at no extra charge!

Nanny in Toronto, Ontario

I'm an
Hello Families, My name is Shelagh. I have over 20 years experience working in the childcare profession, primarily as a nanny. I have two children of my own. My oldest, Olivia, is nine. She's currently enrolled in grade four at Huron P.S. My youngest is Saoirse who turned three in January. I am looking for a position that will allow me to bring her along. I had the same arrangement with Olivia until she started school. Alternatively, I am open to taking care of children in my home. I have a great deal of experience looking after several children at once. Olivia would be attending the after-school program at her school so she would not be part of the mix. I live in the Annex but am willing to travel a reasonable distance. I have my child/infant CPR and first aid. I have also completed the Canadian Mothercraft Society Home Based Child Care Program. Prior to having Olivia, I was studying psychology at Ryerson in the evenings. I've since completed a certificate program in Mental Health and Addictions. I am now working on my Bachelor of Arts in psychology in my off hours. My long term goal is to complete my degree in psychology with an aim to eventually focus specifically on children. I am an excellent swimmer so I'm very comfortable with children around water and enjoy many other activities such as bike riding, hiking or just spending an afternoon at the park. In the winter I enjoy taking children ice skating and tobogganing. I like to keep busy with my kids by taking part in various programs such as story time at the local library, drop-in centres and playdates. I also recognize the importance of downtime at home while engaged in quiet activities such as reading, doing crafts and playing games. I have always enjoyed a close relationship with the families I work for and am still in touch with many of my former nanny families. I have always loved my little charges as though they were my own. Becoming a mother has only served to strengthen that bond. I feel that motherhood has allowed me more insight into how parents feel towards their children, their desire to protect them and see them thrive, which I think adds to my performance as a caregiver. I have a resume which I would be happy to forward to anyone interested. I also have a police reference check. Throughout my career as a nanny, I have cared for children of all ages from newborn to teenagers. My duties have included- taking children to and from school/play dates/various extracurricular activities dressing and bathing preparing meals organizing fun activities playing/reading books/doing crafts keeping the house tidy light housework children laundry I look forward to hearing from some prospective families. ***In light of the Covid-19 situation I want to assure families that I am taking all the necessary precautions. I have been vaccinated five times as has my husband, my nine year old has had three vaccinations and my three year old has had two. Although masks are no longer mandated in schools, Olivia still wears one as do all the staff at her school. I have a car so I don't have to rely on the subway. With many people working from home, I am also open to having someone bring their child to my home to be cared for. I have had that arrangement in the past and found that it worked well.
Gallery Photo


I can work:
Live out
Long term
Short term


I can look after:
4 children
Ages include:
Newborn 0-12 months
Infant 3-12 months
Toddler 1-3 years
Early school 4-6 years
Primary school 7-11 years
Preteen/teen 12+ years
I have advanced experience with:
Physical disability


Responsibilities include:
Pet care
Swim supervision
Homework help


First Aid
Background check
I can speak

Job details

Has own vehicle

Share This Profile

Find Nannies in Toronto, Ontario
More in Toronto, Ontario