1. Nannies
  2. Canada
  3. Alberta
  4. Calgary

Kara J

No reviews yet
Excellent Nanny
Calgary, Alberta
Active over a week ago

Nanny in Calgary, Alberta

I'm an
Hello there, I would like to give you a brief introduction of myself. I am a former student at Mount Royal University, I did my degree in Child & Youth care with a minor in Psychology, graduating in 2018. I have since then expanded my education, and I am now Behavioural Interventionist as well, meaning I work closely with children living with disabilities. This has been the most rewarding aspect of my career thus far. I have been working in the field now for about 7 years, and I truly believe I will never change my career, even during one of those “mid-life crisis” (LOL). During my education, I worked as a nanny part-time for several years. In the summer months when I would return home, I would work within a day-care/summer day-camp establishment. After some experience there, I went on to become a supervisor of a summer soccer camp! When I graduated, I continued to work as a nanny, while doing my schooling for my Early Childhood Interventionist program. I since then, have been working one on one, (contracts) with a couple children in their school environment, helping them as a direct support. I am excellent with kids, I have tons of everyday life experience supervising, and caring for them, as well as growing up being the neighbourhood babysitter. Nothing brings me more joy than being surrounded by children, of all ages. It lifts my spirits and hopes, they will be in wonderful care with me, I assure you. I was born in Newfoundland, surrounded by a very big family; my family then moved to the NWT, Yellowknife for work and I resided there until I moved to Calgary in 2015 for school, and have stayed in Alberta ever since, I just cannot part from those beautiful mountains! I am a very outdoorsy person, I love nature, I also enjoy all kinds of sports; I am a very physically active person with high energy. I have worked with children my entire life. My most recent experience as as a nanny was caring for a 9 year old boy, and 1 year old baby girl. Unfortunately, I had to leave once they left to England for the summer, as I was suppose to be starting school, although it didn't pan out. Before that, I looked after 3 little girls, ages 2, 4 and 6, I looked after them full time, from 7am-5:30pm. I took them to school, picked them up, drove them to activities, prepared lunch and helped with everyday house duties as well. Before that, I cared for a newborn baby, helping a stay at home mom with all the demands. I also have experience working in various summer day camps, with kids ranging from ages 5-12 years. It is tough work and very demanding, you must be there every day and you can never take your eyes off the children even for a second. It is a big responsibility caring for 20 children all at the same time, preparing food, cleaning up after messes as well as organizing activities to keep them busy. The time I spent at summer camp was the best times of my life and I truly mean that. I have never been happier, working with children all day gives me the greatest joy, hence me pursuing a career in the field. I have experience working with children with disabilities, as well as various health disorders. I am certified in CPR/AED, as well as First Aid. I also have High-Five training as well and have no issues providing copies of my certifications. I am an excellent candidate and I look forward to hearing from you guys and the am amazing opportunities you have to offer! Kara S.


I can work:
Live out
Long term
Short term


Ages include:
Early school
Primary school
I have advanced experience with:
Intellectual disability
Mental health
Physical disability
Severe allergies
Tourettes Syndrome

Job details

Has driver's license
Has own vehicle


I can provide:
First aid
I can speak


Responsibilities include:
Homework help
Meal prep
Pet care
Swim supervision


I have been trained as:
Early childhood educator (ECE)
Personal support worker

Share This Profile